Not-so-traditional

Today (June 8th) is my Mom’s birthday… or would’ve been my Mom’s birthday. Um, how do you say that after a person has died?

Well, anyway… for Mom’s birthday weekend I decided to go somewhere I’ve never been before.

tattoo2

Marti came with me for some supportive hand-holding and to make sure I didn’t pass out. I left this place with one of these:

tattoo3

Yeah, a tattoo. A white ink tattoo so that it doesn’t scream out at people while at work or other professional gatherings. Plus – it’s truly just for me, so as long as I know it’s there then I’m happy. They tried to talk me out of getting it done in white ink – but it’s exactly what I was looking for.

My Dad gave Mom a gold ankh charm for their wedding day. It’s the one thing I remember her wearing the most while I was growing up. I thought it was fitting for me to have this symbol of “everlasting life” on my wrist reminding me of her…the woman who gave me life. It’s on my left wrist – Mom & I were the only two lefties in the family.

The pink “glow” from the tattoo is my super-sensitive and still healing skin. And yeah, it hurt like a mother-trucker. Mom got a tattoo when she turned 50 – I couldn’t believe it and tried to scrape it off of her shoulder. She said, “It’s not coming off, Jen.”

For the record, I didn’t pass out…. I may have had to put my head between my knees for a second or two, but I did not pass out.

On Sunday, me & my sisters went to the cemetery to bring Mom some flowers and visit for a while. Great plan – my little one even came with me. But there was one little problem… we forgot the flowers.

We thought for sure we’d see a place once we got off the interstate, but we forgot that the cemetery is in the middle of the COUNTRY and there was nary a florist nor a grocery store to be seen.

(Yeah, I said ‘nary’ – what of it?)

Knowing our Mom as well as we do… I mean, this is the woman who would pick flowers and plants from other peoples’ lawns without batting an eyelash.  And somehow when I got my own place, I was given a full set of steak knives from that well-known Australian steakhouse and lots and lots of sweet-n-low packets.

We saw some pretty flowers on the side of the road and brought those to her. I think she would have liked them.

cemetery

Happy Birthday Mom.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not-so-traditional

  1. jen-jen says:

    you’re mamma would have been proud..and if you passed out, i’m pretty sure she would have laughed at you…i’m just saying…

  2. KoKo says:

    Its a beautiful and fitting tribute to your mom, and I think it looks great. Subtle, understated, private and full of meaning. In other words, dear Jen, perfect for you.

  3. Kimberly Reed says:

    you said nary…hahaha….you’re funny!!!

    i’m glad you went and took your mom some flowers.

    as for the tattoo……why, WHY did you have to tell me it hurts like a mo fo?!!! i’m getting one, you know!!! almost did it when i was in fort bragg…where i was getting my nose pierced and my little hoop..but yeah….the tat place was out of hoops. so i have no nose piercing or tattoo!! i can’t decide where to put my tattoo…or what i want. maybe the words free spirit (in thai)…still not sure. anyway…i’m a little off topic….yeah…that hapens with me doesn’t it.

    happy birthday to your mom. without her i wouldn’t have you!

  4. RMSJr says:

    Happy Birthday Mom.

  5. Rhonda says:

    It’s beautiful, Jen. I wish I could’ve been with you and Marti when you got it. BUT, I probably would’ve left with yet ANOTHER one, and well, I really don’t need to look like a lesbian biker chick (not offense to any lesbian biker chicks who are reading this). :o) I thought I was done with tattoos (I have 6 now…), but I’m really wanting another on my right foot…along the outside, towards the bottom…know where I mean?

Leave a Reply

