Me and SpongeBob… we’re like *this*

There was some extra money left in the old Flexible Spending Account so we (the husband and I) decided to ditch the glasses and get contacts. I haven’t worn contacts in more than 15 years. That’s a long time to go without seeing only through your eyeballs.

Its like… well, it’s like all of a sudden I decided not to wear shoes again. Just stopped wearing shoes completely. Except that I’ll put them on at night when my feet were tired.

Right. Just like that.

Without my safety goggles, I’m feeling completely exposed and lacking protection for me… um, my eyes. People can actually see me now… see my face. I’m not super-comfortable with this.

Its been a few months and I’m still adjusting to them… to me… to this new (old) face. This is a pic me after just a few days with them. It also happens to be Halloween – hence the orange & purple hair (which I truly wish I could wear every day… really) and the heavier-than-normal make-up (that is running down my face).

(ack! There’s that forehead again… yeesh… anyone need some advertising space?)

So. Every morning I wake up and stick plastic lenses on my eyeballs and look longingly over at the glasses that I’m not wearing during the day (these suckers come out as soon as I walk in the door from work).

Instead of an eyeglass cleansing cloth, I carry a spare pair of lenses in my purse along with eye drops – which are a huge necessity – because every afternoon my eye balls start to feel like they are drying out inside my head just like when SpongeBob goes into Sandy’s tree house without his water bowl (because water is for sissies) while he’s trying to be fancy.

2729611385_90a2ef8165

Yes… exactly like SpongeBob.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Me and SpongeBob… we’re like *this*

  1. Karen says:

    I think you look absolutely beautiful, Jen. And the purple and orange hair totally rocks.

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    dude.
    you are too fuckin’ funny.
    i dig your purple and orange hair too. that rocks.

  3. RMSJr says:

    The new you works.

  4. Rhonda says:

    I have tried contacts on several occasions over the years. I do not like them…I like glasses on my face…it felt too weird not having them. NOW, they are practical for other reasons. People never, ever believe that I’m as old as I am, and truly part of it is because the glasses hide the crows’ feet that are forming, and they also tend to distract from the dark circles and bags under my eyes. So I will never part with my goggles. :o)

  5. Vicky says:

    You make me laugh! And that picture of SB? Totally I understand.

Leave a Reply

