What’s with the plastic bag?

Over the years when people see my Christmas tree, they often ask me about the plastic bag that is sitting on the branches. You can’t really see it when you glance at the tree; its only noticeable when you really get up close. This is the view:

The plastic bag is always situated near the Statue of Liberty centennial ornament (in front of a green light, of course) & the gold tree with the photo of my grandmother (Noni) swimming. (She didn’t learn to swim until she was a grandmother six times over – so it was quite the momentus occasion.) The bag is to the bottom left.

This is the bag outside of the tree:

Nice, huh?

I guess when I was about three or four years old, I decided to take a few clothespins (the fabulous 70’s green-orange-and yellow plastic kind) and a paper napkin in order to make a super-special ornament for my Noni’s Christmas tree. Even at that age I was doing some sort of crafting. 

Noni hung it up on her tree every year. I didn’t realize until I was older that she continued to do that. When it started to fall apart she put it in a ziploc bag and hung that on her tree.  

After she passed away in 1992, my grandfather gave it to my Mom who put it on her tree for a little while. Or did I get it before then? Hmmm… I can’t remember. Anyway. It must go on my tree every year. And in my mind, it makes perfect sense to put it behind the ornament of her swimming & the Statue of Liberty. (we’re from New York, you know..and it’s my most favorite statue.)

(Everyone has a favorite statue, right?)

It’s my small tribute to my grandmother who I miss very much… every day… and especially at Christmas.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s with the plastic bag?

  1. islandjen says:

    awwww..princess..that’s an awesome story…

  2. jules says:

    I have ornaments from my childhood on our tree too. And I always keep the ornaments the kids create. Right now there is a red plastic frog wrapped in string hanging from a branch along with various buts of constructions paper (from a Thanksgiving headband) melded together and shoved amongst the branches. These are Ian’s contributions.

    So who gets it next? Mackie or Skylar?

  3. Marti says:

    Awwww…so sweet! I love that. ❤

  4. RMSJr says:

    Very nice tribute.

    BTW, we have the same Statue of Liberty ornament. I went down to snap a photo of it and apparently it is in the archives for this year. That’s what happens when you buy 3 to 4 momento ornaments a year times now 26 years. The tree branchesags….

  5. Rhonda says:

    Okay, that brought tears to my eyes! So incredibly sweet.

Leave a Reply

