Pros and Cons

Since I’m the Murphy Brown of HR Directors, I’m currently looking for a new assistant. Apparently, I’m really supportive and encouraging making it very easy for people to leave me and go on to bigger and better things. WHATEVER. I’m so not doing that anymore.

I’ve had three interviews so far & all of them have been really good. One more is scheduled for tomorrow and then I’m hoping to make a decision. (so that I don’t have to sort through the 170+ resumes again – thank you, President Bush)

Right now I’m feeling torn… do I hire the more experienced candidate who will bring a strong personality and background to the position, but might be here less time (see above “bigger and better” comment)… OR do I bring on someone with less experience, mucho enthusiasm and drive, become a mentor to and who will probably hang out a little bit longer?

At this point, I’m just not sure.

I am sure, however, that I will NOT be hiring this guy:

He sent me a cake, his FIVE PAGE resume, and a color photo… of HIMSELF. (with no discernable HR experience whatsoever, I might add)

If you’re looking for a job, please don’t do that. Ever. It made me even more confident of my choice to have a panic button installed in my office.

And so… the search continues.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pros and Cons

  1. jules says:

    I’m telling you, the guy deserved a pity interview at least!

    If it hadn’t been for the *framed* picture (major creep factor) I would have interviewed him…while munching on cake.

  2. islandjen says:

    lmao…i can’t believe you posted this!! bwahhhhahahh!! it doesn’t matter who you hire…you know you rock as a mentor..they too will leave you b/c you trained them so well obi wan!

  3. Kimberly says:

    um…..my question is this. did you eat the cake?

  4. Lance Haun says:

    This is epic. Thank you for sharing.

  5. In my retirement I’m writing a book of all the great interviewing stories I’ve been lucky to be a part of. I so wish this was mine!

  6. Lewis says:

    I love it! Did you forward his package on to the Executive Chef? Is there a position open in the kitchen? Apparently experience, or lack thereof, isn’t an obstacle with this guy.

  7. Breanne says:

    phenomenal! You must interview him to see what else he will send you. Mention how much you dig Louis Vuitton!

  8. Tracy Tran says:

    Holy crap, this goes into my holiday rotation.

Leave a Reply

