Vote!

My plan was to head to the poll after my training class ended. I prepared for the wait with a book (Twilight – after recommendations from family and Rhonda). I even borrowed my daughter’s Nintendo DS. I stopped for some substanance (a milkshake from Chik-fil-a) and had a bottle of water with me too. I was ready to park it, camp out if needed, in order to exercise my right to vote.

I knew that it wasn’t going to be as quick as the election that took place at my house. My son decided to have his own election so he prepared the ballots and posted signs (above) – you know, in case we got lost on the way to his room, uh, I mean the poll.

Everyone got to vote, including the dog, who is apparently a Republican. I was afraid of that. I first noticed his Republican tendencies when he avoided peeing on the McCain/Palin sign stuck in the neighbor’s grass. He pees on everything else in the yard that stands still for five minutes – why not the sign? I’m disappointed. Even his collar is even red. *sigh*

Obama won in my house. (no thanks to the dog)

Anyway… I drove to the polling place (a local church) prepared for my long wait.

I was in and out within five minutes.

Five minutes.

There was no line. There was no wait.

There was no one there except for a large number of poll workers with nothing to do. (they outnumbered the voters)

Now there’s a wait. A wait to find out who our next President will be.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vote!

  1. jules says:

    You know why your dog is a Republican?

    He doesn’t pay taxes.

  2. RMSJr says:

    Reminds me of getting my recent annual flu shot. Drive 20 miles to clinic. Bring book, because there is always a line and you are supposed to wait fifteen minutes for the instantaneous side effects. Got there, no line. Was asked if I had an appointment – I pointed to the sign that proclaimed Walk-In. Here’s your sign. Got my shot, asked where I shoud wait, she pointed to a sign that proclaimed – You Do Not Need to Stay After Getting Your Innoculation. There’s my sign. So I proclaimed innocently, but I brought a book to read.

    Oh, and I voted early. Why wait to lose.

Leave a Reply

