It’s a conspiracy, man.

(that’s what my kids say when they talk like “hippies” – because to them, that’s what hippies walk around saying – all the time.)

I stopped for gas yesterday at a station where & paid a measly $2.79 per gallon. That’s right, people… two-freakin-seventy-nine per gallon. Of gas. In America. Jealous?

I thought that maybe the station had a dyslexic number-putter-upper & surely they would realize that this was a mistake. Gas for $2.79? That’s crazy-talk!

I filled up my tank while looking around suspiciously wondering when someone would run out and say – ACK! THAT’S THE WRONG PRICE! HAND OVER YOUR WALLET, LADY!

No one ever did… so I decided to splurge and paid for a car wash.

Even after full tank and the Ultimate Car Wash my bill was less than a couple of weeks ago. That was when I filled up at $4.39 a gallon.

How in the heck did the price of gas go down $1.60 (had to use a calculator for that one… whew) in a few short weeks? That doesn’t make sense. We’re still paying the same for milk, right? I haven’t noticed the price of bread, avocados, movie tickets, shoes &/or wine going down at all. (and believe me, I checked on the wine…and okay, the shoes too.)

Right before I paid $4.39 for a freakin’ gallon of gas, I could barely find gas ANYWHERE. This is what we were dealing with in the huge commuter city of Atlanta:

and this:

No gas. Anywhere. It had a lot of people panicking and even running out of gas while waiting for gas. I thought I had slipped through the space-time continuum and back into the 1970s. (where I was a wee-babe, thankyouverymuch)

If you did happen to find a station that was actually selling gas, you’d see this:

That line went on for about a half a mile. Ridiculous.

After pumping the $2.79 gas into my car, I felt like YES! I WON! I had gotten one over on those big evil oil companies! GO ME! 

I realized that I shouldn’t be HAPPY about gas at $2.79 a gallon. That is still TOO HIGH. Someone tricked me into thinking that $2.79 was a reasonable amount to pay for gas…and it almost worked! But it’s not reasonable. It’s NOT. Dammit.

That was when I gave the gas station a hair flip. (don’t piss me off or I might hair flip you too – I’m crazy like that)

And then I sat through my $6.00 car wash.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s a conspiracy, man.

  1. Josh Maxwell says:

    Thanks for posting the article, was certainly a great read!

  2. Jules says:

    I know what you’re saying! When did gas become REASONABLE at $2.49? and it was higher than that a year ago you know. Ridiculous. It *is( a conspiracy.

    However, as long as there is no sudden spike in the cost of pretty acid free paper and thickers, I’ll survive.

  3. Lewis says:

    That’s all well and good…

    Wait.

    Did you say you got a car wash?

    Talk about a wrench in the space/time continuum.

    BTW, your car blogged today.
    The title is, “WTF? I got washed today! Beep! Beep!”

  4. jensmack says:

    Beep Beep?!

    That doesn’t sound like my car at all.

  5. RMSJr says:

    Jen’s car goes bwwooopppp

Leave a Reply

