I thought I was going to have to hand over my first born.

The other day I went to the kiosk at the mall… you know, the kiosk with the big cell phone company sign over it. I told the girl there that I wanted to upgrade my phone.

Sounds simple, right? Yeah. I thought so too.

An hour later I left the mall… with my same old phone. It was an hour of my life that I’ll never get back. No new phone. No nothing. Just frustration and instructions to visit the “corporate store.”

O-M-G.

I wasn’t trying to buy a new car or refinance my house. All I wanted was a new phone. An upgrade – not canceling my coverage, not changing my plan… just a freakin’ upgrade. That’s all!

Why do these cockamamie phone companies have to make it so freaking difficult!?

The story is that because my husband has “met” his contract but I haven’t (because I had to replace my phone when it was STOLEN just a year ago – my contract started all over again) the franchise kiosk couldn’t help me. Huh?

Why have a kiosk with the big sign over it if they can’t do these kinds of things? 

Maybe if I gave them a DNA sample or a lock of hair or a limb I would’ve gotten some help. Or at least a blackberry.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I thought I was going to have to hand over my first born.

  1. Tom Stanley says:

    I was on Yahoo and found your blog. Read a few of your other posts. Good work. I am looking forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Tom Stanley

  2. Kimberly says:

    humpf. i have just been through this hell. and i still have no new phone. i feel your pain. it is so irritating. now i’m thinking…do i really…i mean REALLY need a cell phone??? is it worth the frustration and hours wasted (time i’ll never get back). plus…and get this….they want me to pay an upgrade fee? WTH??? and yes. i am bitter. LOL! so i still have my crappy phone that rings…..SOMETIMES…..until i decide what i want to do.

  3. RMSJr says:

    Can you hear me yet?

    Our cellphone plan includes two-year unit upgrades. And it’s verizon.

Leave a Reply

