Where have you been?

There is a light at the end of my boring-non-internet-accessing life. The new hardware arrived yesterday and I should be back in the 21st century by tonight! Hallelujah!

On the flip side… I have been getting a lot of extra sleep.

Work has been difficult – the employee that was in the hospital passed away over the weekend. We’re holding a memorial service for her at the hotel today & expect about 150+ people to share it with us. Tomorrow is her funeral – about 2 1/2 hours away & there may not be enough room in the church for everyone. (and we don’t mind one bit)

Even though I’ve been in HR for over 11 years, this is the first time I’ve lost an employee. Not only are we (me & my assistant) grieving over the loss of a dear friend and co-worker, we’re also looked upon to help others through it. It’s tough – but it helps to get out of the wallowing-in-self-pity funk knowing that there are other people feeling exactly the same way & they need you.

A long weekend could not come at a better time. The extra day will most definitely be needed & enjoyed with the family and the INTERNET! (after some serious house-cleaning & toilet-scrubbing) I’ll be soooo happy to be connected again! I’ve missed my blog friends! And my gossip sites! And my message boards! And my Webkinz! (I hope they’re okay! Probably starving… poor little imaginary-computer-generated pets.)

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where have you been?

  1. jen jen says:

    wo-hoo…welcome to the intenet baby!! lol!!

  2. Kimberly says:

    well i guess i was in the dark. i had no idea you were having computer probs.

    as for your friend/co-workeer who passed away, i am so sorry. i hope you (and everyone else) make it through the service. what a tragedy.

Leave a Reply

