The Early Bird Catches What?

Photo at the airport – waiting to board the plane. Doesn’t this look like fun?

I made it to Florida – when I got here, the hotel lost power. I tried updating before my battery died – but that didn’t go so well. The power finally came back on and I was able to enjoy dinner with the HR Director – and use the elevator to my room when they finally started working again. (walking up 12 flights of stairs did not sound like FUN)

The classes seemed to go well. I got good feedback from the managers who attended. They said that they couldn’t believe it was the first time I had facilitated the class. (whew – I guess I fooled them)

Luckily – it all went better than the day I left:

That morning, I heard my alarm go off at 6:00am and I stumble out of bed. I walk into the bathroom and get in the shower. I opened the window in the shower and noticed how dark it was outside. And it stayed dark. Hmmm… that’s weird. Shouldn’t the sun be coming up by now?

I get out of the shower and start getting into that “getting-ready-for-work” mode in addition to the “don’t-forget-to-pack-your-hair-products” mode when I decide to open the door and look at the alarm clock.

It read 1:30am, not 6:30am.

I had woken up 5 hours early wihtout making sure that it was the correct time. And I showered. And I started getting ready.

Shit.

Okay then… I guess that explains why I was so tired. Back to bed for a five-hour nap.

Anyway – I’ve been able to get more sleep since I arrived – especially now that the classes are over. And tomorrow I get to see my girls! I can’t wait!!

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Early Bird Catches What?

  1. jen-jen says:

    eeekk…i can’t wait for tomorrow!

  2. RMSJr says:

    That’s quite a timezone shift you had going on. Were you dreaming of being beyond the left coast?

    Which model of leadership theory were you presenting?

Leave a Reply

