“I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.”

What movie? Anyone?

(Marti knows it!)

My day yesterday was crazy. Seriously.

I’m dealing with mega-issues at work that are taking a lot of time and space in my brain.  I was insulted by a colleage at a Staff Meeting in front of about 20 other managers. And then my sister forgot to tell me that she was going to be arriving at my house that evening with her family to stay for the weekend.

Did I also mention that I thought it would be a really good time to go cold turkey on medicine that I’ve been taking for the past four years? NOT pretty.

It was also a full moon.

I had a dishwasher in my office with a complaint about his supervisor towards the end of the day. I was exasperated at this point (due to all issues listed above) and looked at the guy and said, “What is wrong with this place? Why are these people behaving this way?”

He said, “I just don’t know Jen.”

Because I’m now taking advice from one of my dishwashers.

He’s quite the philosopher.

My assistant was begging me to go back on the medicine. She even offered to call my doctor for me. Isn’t she the sweetest? I told her that I was perfectly fine to handle the day’s issues… and that it didn’t matter one bit that my lips were numb, my teeth hurt and my eyeballs felt like they were drying out inside my head. It didn’t matter. I was fine.

This is clearly the talk of a crazy-person. Only crazy people think they are fine when their lips are numb. It’s a fact.

I got on with the day… shrinking eyeballs and all. I saw my favorite colleague later on and asked if he wouldn’t mind removing the dagger from my back. He was all like, what? what are you talking about? Yeah. I also declined his offer to carpool with him to work every day. (The increased price in gas is worth my sanity [which is also questionable at this point], thankyouverymuch) Then I consumed two glasses of really good wine.

After that I went home and watched So You Think You Can Dance. (the best show on TV right now)

This morning I called my doctor & had my prescription refilled.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.”

  1. Lewis says:

    Okay, if your post about being insane (or thinking you’re insane) makes me laugh at every turn, what in the world does that make me?

    Insensitive?

    A fan of your humor?

    I hope the latter! I’m sorry to hear you had such a bad day, but I must admit that it’s selfishly funny to read about! You should stop medicating intermittently more often! It brings out your funnier side… BTW, that’s not a clinical opinion supported by the good people at the American Psychological Association, I’m sure.

    And another thing…
    You said you downed two glasses of really good wine and THEN went home. Are you drinking at work? Did you offer the dishwasher any?

    P.S. : Lloyd Bridges: AIRPLANE!

  2. jensmack says:

    Ding! Ding! You got it, Lew!

    You read that correctly. I was drinking at work. It was *authorized* management wine drinking, however… and I did also have a little to eat so I would not be sloshed.

    The dishwasher did not partake… he was actually working.

  3. Milissa says:

    Hey Jen …. you are so funny … I think you ought to write for a magazine or newspaper … your humor is unmatched by far !!! LOL… so sorry to hear that your day sucked and that you work with a bunch of Freddie Krugers relatives …. hope it gets better … tell the dishwasher I said hi!

    LOL
    Milissa

  4. Frank says:

    Jen never has two cups of coffee at home. Yeah, she’s funny, especially when she’s the expert on Christopher Columbus!

Leave a Reply

