Sexual Harassment and Mom-Envy

Last week at work seriously kicked my ass. Big time. You know that kind of HR week where the unemployment officer on the appeal hearing conference call practically offers to drive the ex-employee to the EEOC. (and the ex-employee has no reason to go to there at all)

What? You’ve never had one of those weeks?

Every time I think I have a handle on things at the hotel, all of a sudden I have a couple of management resignations and a sexual harassment investigation in my lap. (and no, my lap is not the reason for the latter)

One day this week shortly after my eleventh hour of meetings all due to associate relations issues, I had to tell a supervisor to please have that “tough” conversation with the associate somewhere else because I had to go home.

Hey, I said ‘please’.

My assistant said, “Wow, you sounded like a Director when you said that.” (damn – it only took me five years)

So maybe it was all the super-fantastic-fun of the work week that made me the weepy daughter-in-law this weekend. Who knows?

All I know is that after I looked through the photo album for my husband’s fortieth birthday and came across photos of my Mom I could not. stop. crying.

Now it’s Sunday night and I’m about to start another week at work. I’m trying to be positive and think that maybe this week will be better. Sounds good, right?  

Yeah.  After a couple of phone calls from the hotel this weekend, I’m not feeling super-confident.

I’m going to try for a good night’s sleep (ha!) and maybe a renewed sense of positivity for the upcoming week.

Happy Monday y’all!

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sexual Harassment and Mom-Envy

  1. jules says:

    aww, sweetie. You should have called! Makes my issues of compliance seem trivial. At least I check out at 5:30 every day! Love ya girlie!

Leave a Reply

