This may be good news to some.

My voice is gone.

I got sick on Sunday – fever, chills, sore throat, all the fun that goes along with that and today I lost my voice. It might have something to do with getting very little sleep last night & being woken up a few times by a little girl who was also not feeling well. Or it may just be my body’s way of telling me to slow-the-eff-down. Or it may be an ear infection-flu-like virus that finally caught up with me.

Whatever the reason, I am thoroughly annoyed at not having a voice. It’s extremely frustrating for this girl whose voice is a BFOQ (bonafide-occupational-qualification). 

I imagine that there are more than a few people at work who may be a little too pleased with this current situation. Jen can’t talk? WOO HOO! (No, but I can still email.)

I have noticed that when I try to talk & all that seeps out is a pitiful whisper… the people I’m talking to whisper right back to me. They actually mirror my sick-whisper as if there’s another reason behind it. Like I’m just a quiet-talker or something. 

Maybe they have Librarian issues?

Did I mention that it’s getting on my nerves?

On today’s schedule:

  • a lunch with three colleagues
  • HR conference call

All of these items go perfectly well with someone who doesn’t have a voice.

Not.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This may be good news to some.

  1. jules says:

    awww! Let me feed you tea and wrap you in a nice warm robe and sit you in front of a tv in a comfy chair so you can watch inane daytime programming and doze. I’ll take care of all your work for you.

  2. RMSJr says:

    Remember, silence speaks volumes.

    Get Well, Be Well.

  3. Kimberly says:

    feel better!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

