House Guest

My Dad drove up a couple of days ago & is spending some time with us. I am so happy about that. I am very lucky to have the extra space in our lovely new house so that he can have his own bedroom and bathroom. His visit is very bittersweet – it had been planned for a while now… he & my Mom would come up to see the new house.

Dad is camped out in the guest room, which is also my scrap room. He brought down a bed – it was purchased when my Mom couldn’t make it up the stairs at their house. He brought it to us so that we have an extra place for people to sleep. Sleep in it? I’m sure that it will be covered in letter stickers and patterned paper very soon.

He brought his laptop too, of course. He doesn’t go anywhere without that. Anywhere. One of the first things he asked about when he arrived was how to connect to our internet wirelessly. Um, we’re not that sophisticated. We use the old-fashioned DSL line to our non-laptop home computer.

He had to run the phone line (which is soooo 2006) from our computer to his computer – or something like that. All I know is that he’s able to access the internet and we’re all very happy about it. Thank goodness that’s fixed, for now. He’s still determined to get us wireless; apparently we need a new modem or something.

Yesterday he went out and bought sheets for our new bed & I went into my scraproom  the guest room to see them. I notice that he put his laptop on my scrapdesk… okay, that’s fine, I guess. That must mean that he’s enjoying the new comfy birthday present desk chair that Chris and the kids got me. I haven’t even sat in it yet… but, all right, it’s my Dad, and he’s our guest.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who might be a teensy-bit overprotective over her stuff… her scrap stuff. The kids know it. The husband knows it. Dad? Not so much.

So – I notice a glass of ice water on my desk sitting next to his lap top. A drink on my scrap desk?! What? Doesn’t everyone know NOT to put a drink on a scrapdesk? I mean come on people – we’re not barbarians!

And THEN I notice that the “coaster” he’s using for this glass of ice water, which has obviously been there for a while because condensation is all over the outside of the glass… is a STACK OF PATTERNED PAPER I had left on the desk for a little project I’m working on!

ACK!

Obviously, I need to teach my Dad the importance and value of Hamby and KI Color Theory. You’ll all be relieved to know that I was able to rescue the paper before there was too much damage.

That was a close one.

My next project will be making a sign that says, “Attention Guests: Please do not place drinks on the scrap desk.”

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to House Guest

  1. jen jen says:

    i am crying i am laughing so hard!! you better get workin’ on that sign! i’d hate for you to have to make your dad sleep on the couch b/c he does not undersatnd “scrapbook etiquette”

  2. Kimberly says:

    you make me smile. it should be the other way around….you’re an amazing woman. i hope you have a wonderful time with your dad even though it’s bittersweet. maybe some healing can begin…that’s what i’m hoping for.

  3. Marti says:

    HA HA HA HA HA HA! You so need that sign. And I picture it dangling from a little piece of matching ribbon.

    Yeah, dad needs some boundaries. And a coaster.

  4. RMSJr says:

    Can you scrap up a coaster, personallized for Dad?

  5. Jules says:

    You absolutely *MUST* get him properly trained! A drink ring on Hambly??!!!! That is supreme SACRILEGE!

  6. Cynthia says:

    Next time dad comes, give him a water bottle…with a lid!!! I am LOL at your coaster!!! YIKES!

Leave a Reply

