Saying good-bye again.

 

My sisters and I holding onto my Mom – 3/7/08

I’m back in Wildwood. This time I didn’t come down by myself. Mom’s funeral is tomorrow. Right now she’s resting in an urn on the dining room table. On top of a People magazine. Dad says she’s reading.

I’ve been trying to dodge questions about creamation from the kids and hold it together all at the same time. I also edited my Dad’s eulogy and went through boxes of photos.

My Dad has everything together for the funeral… but, he’s using her full name of “Kathleen” for everything. The prayer cards. The eulogy. The memory book. The graphic stickers for everyone’s car. (don’t get me started on those) The plaque he’s having engraved for the urn. Kathleen.

She HATED the name Kathleen. I’m not telling him.

I went through photo CDs tonight to put on a disk that is going to be shown at the service tomorrow. I hadn’t realized – until I found photos from the past few years – just how much my Mom had changed. You can see the progression of the illness and how her appearance changed so drastically.

Maybe if I stay up late enough I can sleep through it? Have I mentioned how much I am NOT looking forward to tomorrow?

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saying good-bye again.

  1. jen jen says:

    love you sweetie..

    p.s. your mom has good taste in magazines! 🙂

  2. RMSJr says:

    Jen;

    Even in your grief, your artistic heart, both words and pictures, shows through. This picture shows the power of the love of mothers, sisters, and daughters.

    Celebrate life.

    Be well.

  3. jules says:

    love you!

    Take a picture of the snowglobe for us! 🙂 <—- attempt at cheering you up a tad

  4. Kathy says:

    Jen I have been thinking about you — the picture you posted is so beautiful, one you will cherish for a long time.

    Much love to you during this difficult weekend.

    Kath

  5. Naureen says:

    Hey Jen-

    My thought and prayers are with you and your family. Sending you love, hugs and kisses from Orlando!

    The picture of you girls with your mom is so sweet and I am sure later you will find it comforting and dear to your heart.

    Miss you!
    Naureen

  6. Kimberly says:

    just got back from texas and wanted to see how you are doing.
    the robbie benson thing….dude. word.
    it’s a beautiful pic of you and your sisters holding your mom’s hand. beautiful…and sad…but beautiful nonetheless.
    thinking of you……sending you a great big giant squeeze.

  7. Marti says:

    Love that picture. It brings tears to my eyes. I hope to see you soon and give you a huge hug in person.

Leave a Reply

