X Marks the Spot

Politics aside… I felt pretty proud of my gender tonight when I stood in front of the computerized voting booth (no dangling chads for me)  and saw a woman’s name on the list for President of the United States.

That’s amazing to me… that she’s been able to get this far. Really. There are still glass ceilings out there; I see it every single day. It is sad that it’s taken this long to see the possibility of a female president – but we’re getting closer and closer to it actually happening & that is so exciting to me.

I felt even better when touched the screen and put a big fat X next to her name. Even if she doesn’t win the nomination (my fingers are certainly crossed for her) I’m thrilled that she’s somewhere in the fight.

The kids came with us while we voted tonight. I wanted them to experience Democracy in Action. I was explaining to them how there are many countries out there who don’t have democracies… whose people can’t choose their leaders… talking about how this is the first election with a female candidate (who isn’t going to paint the White House pink, Skylar. Thankyouverymuch.) and how important that is to the country…

Turns out, they just wanted to get one of those “Georgia Votes” stickers. That, to them, is democracy – FREE stickers. I was elated to finally see a female Presidential Nominee; they were happy to get a sticker. Any day we’re all happy at the same time is a good day.

Then again – maybe I was just giddy because there was no one on the ballot with the surname of “Bush.”

I hope you marked an X on a ballot today – even if you didn’t vote for the female. (and I hope you got a free sticker too!)

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X Marks the Spot

  1. Kimberly says:

    i attended the nevada caucus on jan 19th. it was an experience. stood and made myself count. i, too, am pleased to see a woman on the ballot. whether it’s clinton or obama…..i’m just doing the happy dance we’re done with ‘dubya’.

  2. Rhonda says:

    It is awesome that we finally have a woman running for president…though I guess I’m the oddball out–I don’t care for her. At all. But I do feel she’s capable.

Leave a Reply

