How’d you snort wine up your nose this time?

This week has been a freakin’ whirlwind of activity for me. And I’m not a whirlwind-of-activity-kind-of-gal. So it’s taken a lot out of me and I’m still recovering from my week.

I had to travel again. This time I went to Virginia – right outside of Washington D.C. I had to attend the training classes so that I could be certified to become a Regional Trainer for the company. Here’s how my trip went:

  • 3:36pm flight on Monday, December 3rd. Get to the airport at 1:45 and am told that my flight is delayed.
  • Jen falls asleep while listening to her ipod.
  • Flight is canceled due to high winds in D.C. and a closed runway at Dulles airport. Crap.
  • Next flight is 9:15pm.
  • Crap-crappity-crap-crap.
  • Walk through Terminal C at the airport for hours and hours while waiting for flight.
  • Flight is smooth except for the landing. And the women next to me gasping each time the plane dipped way more than any of us were used to. (I wanted to smack those women, btw)
  • I stand up once the plane lands (so that I can be the first one to kiss the ground) and the dude in front of me decides to open the overhead compartment without looking back so the overhead compartment knocks me in the head.
  • My luggage? It was waiting for me. (somehow *it* was able to get on the earlier flight)
  • I call the hotel to find out where the shuttle is going to pick me up. Some confusion here… apparently the people giving me the directions to the shuttle at the Dulles airport have never actually BEEN to the Dulles airport.
  • In the FREEZING cold weather I hike over to the shuttle (after 15 minutes of discussion with the hotel) while dragging my suitcase and walking in boots.
  • The dude at the front desk (who has never been to the Dulles) airport was completely perplexed by my method of payment (a check) and looked down at his computer screen for a full five minutes without saying a word to me. Not. One. Word.
  • I get into my room at 12:30am. My meeting started at 8am the next morning.

The rest of the week was spent in class – seriously tedious and intense training class. Being evaluated by the company whose certification we were seeking. *gulp*

And I felt like crap the entire time. Sore throat, congestion, sinus pain. Stinkin’ crap.

The next night I got to enjoy dinner with two dear sweet, funny, beautiful, lovely friends. And I also enjoyed a delicious Cosmo as well. My stomach hurt from laughing so hard and I spent way more time with them instead of preparing for my next day’s class. Totally worth it.

I didn’t sleep well that night and tossed and turned with all kinds of icky symptoms. I woke up feeling like I had just been scraped off the bottom of my boots.

BUT – when I looked out the window…there was SNOW.

I discovered that there is one thing that can make me forget about the lack of sleep, intense training, headache from the overhead compartment, and sinus pain. That would be SNOW. It snowed. Snowflakes falling on my gloves.

I was the idiot standing outside the hotel in the freezing weather looking up at the sky so the snowflakes could land on my face. It was marvelous!

It’s been about nineteen years since I saw snow… and almost thirty years since I remember seeing a snowfall. I was absolutely gleeful!

The six of us in the class successfully passed and became certified! Yayyy! There’s more work for us to do before the program rolls out and some logistical stuff to figure out… but we did it.

The plane ride home was much less eventful. Thank goodness.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How’d you snort wine up your nose this time?

  1. gloria says:

    i will never forget the first time i saw snow
    i walked out of the airport in colorado
    and saw it on the bench and
    as i stretched my hand out to touch it
    i asked
    “is this real?!” it was awesome!!

  2. julie says:

    Sounds like the trip was worth it in the end, but SNOW? a joyous thing? lol! There are reasons I’ve lived in the south most of my life ans SNow is #1

  3. Deneen says:

    The name of the Honey Balls Italian cookies is “Struffoli”

Leave a Reply

