It’s so easy, a 29 year old could do it.

Okay, okay… a 34 year old! WHATevah.

Up until yesterday, we had THREE remote controls for the TV. Three. Why? Well, because one of the controlled the channel changing, one controlled the volume on the amplifier thingy and the other… I can’t even remember what it did. All I know is that no matter how many times it was explained to me, I couldn’t figure it out. And it frustrated the hell outta me. Big time.

If I wanted the TV turned on or off & my husband wasn’t around… I either had to read a book (oh the horror), sit there in silence steaming over the fact that I couldn’t make it work… or get the 9-year old to do it for me. The 9 year old and the other kid (my husband) were the only two people in the house who knew how to work that damn contraption.

The other night I stayed up later than everyone else… I was cleaning and being all kinds of productive. (Okay, not really, I just wanted to see how that sentence looked.) I was up late playing on the computer and watching TV. I couldn’t figure out how to turn the damn thing off when I was ready to go to bed. I had to wake-up my husband & ask him how to do it. I was pissed! I walked out to the living room muttering like a crazy person, “Why can’t we just have ONE remote control for the TV? Why do we need three freakin’ remote controls that I can’t even figure out? Stupid remotes. Stupid TV. Stupid, stupid, stupid.”  

COME ON – it’s a TV! How dumb can I be? (don’t answer that)

The next morning my husband asked me, “Why didn’t you just use the button on the front of the TV and turn it off?”

I calmly replied, “There’s a button on there?”

Anyway… yesterday he figured out how to program the ONE remote to do everything. Of course you have to hit different buttons in order to get those things to work. *sigh* The ‘auxillary’ button has to be pressed when you want to control the volume because the volume goes through the amplifiers so we can hear it in surround sound… then you have to hit the ‘cable’ button if you want to change the channels or record anything… I don’t even remember what he told me about using the DVD player.

I think I may just go back to asking the 9 year old to do it for me.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s so easy, a 29 year old could do it.

  1. Julie says:

    I’m sure the DVD is under “video” since the AUX button is your amp…at least you don’t have an HDTV and have to remember to set it for VEGA, Video, or HDMI. Don’t ask me…I don’t know.

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    omg you are freaking hysterical. if i had been drinking anything it would be all over my computer screen!!!!!!!!

    you need to go to CHA. come on. do it. who cares about work. come and play. you should do that for me since you moved away from florida. 😉 61 days until my birthday surprise trip.

  3. Cynthia says:

    Hey Jen, I ask my little boys ALL the time ’cause this Mama hasn’t a clue. DH has to train them or leave written instructions. But, um…..power button on the tv…that would do it!! LOL

Leave a Reply

