Q & A

My kids ask a lot of questions. I suppose theyre not much different than other kids… but goodness, some of their questions are hard! I don’t know how far away the moon is, how radios work or what plastic is made of. I just don’t. (it’s a sad day when you realize your three year old is coming up with questions that you yourself have never even thought of…that’s when I knew I was in trouble.) 

We came up with a brilliant strategy to answer the question…. “Why don’t we call Uncle Frank and ask him.”

Soon my son proclaimed that Uncle Frank was way smarter than us. Fine by me. What he didn’t realize was that Uncle Frank (before his own children came along & he had more time) came up with these elaborate explanations that made absolutely no sense in real life, but to a three year old were incredibly fascinating and satisfying.

We also had a phrase we used when the questions got to be too much… by the 50th question, we’d answer with, “Goonie-goo-goo.” (I believe we have Eddie Murphy to thank for that phrase)

As they’ve gotten older, the questions have gotten more complicated. Still, I try to answer them honestly and in a way that will satisfy them… at least long enough to distract them with something shiny.

Question: Why do you and Daddy sleep in the same bed?

Answer: Because it was cheaper than buying two beds.

Question: Can a girl marry a girl?

Answer: In some states, yes.

See how that works?

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Q & A

  1. julie says:

    and then you get the dread “why” questions where the kid thinks he’s being funny by asking “why” at the end of the explanation from the previous question. The cure for that is to explain in complete stupefying detail exactly “why” something is. And if that fails, make them research it on their own and present you a report with their findings.

    it gets old fast.

  2. Marti says:

    I need to borrow Uncle Frank! I actually told Olivia at the grocery store to quit asking me questions. She was absolutely wearing me out and I had to figure out what kind of ranch dressing to buy.

  3. jen jen says:

    lol…you are so smart…i’ll have to tell draven to ask uncle David!!

  4. Kimberly Reed says:

    you are freaking brilliant and make me laugh.
    for that i thank you. uh..the make me laugh part. 😉
    happy 4th. hope it’s a good one!

  5. jamie says:

    Where is Uncle Frank when I need him….hmmm…does that mean we get Uncle Chris…..stack up the phone minutes now!

Leave a Reply

