She’s been sprung!

From the joint, the pokey, the clink… okay, the rehab place. No, not the tall blonde chick who craves media attention until it backfires… I’m talking about my MOM.

She’s home.

She’s sleeping in her own home for the first time since 2006. December 2006. That was the last time she was in her own house. It’s crazy to think about it in those terms.

She’s feeling restless & wants to get out and do things… shop mostly. (that’s my Mom) She’s emotional about it. She wants to be able to get around on her own. Nurses and physical therapy will be visiting her weekly. She wants to be up and walking soon. *my fingers are crossed*

It’s making me very homesick. My sister and her kids visited her today. I wanted to be there with them so badly! I think a trip down there will be in the works very soon. I need to see her out of a hospital room… to know that it’s real.

Oh – I told the kids about her leg.

The boy replied, “So she’s been attacked by a shark without being in the water?!”

Um. I guess you could look at it that way.

When I tried to discuss it further and mentioned how she’ll be fitted for a prosthetic… he interrupted me and said, “Mommy, I know all about that; I saw it on Oprah.”

The girl chimed in about the other stuff that was on Oprah that day.

(since when did they start watching Oprah?)

Um, hello… kids? Remember… Noni’s leg?

They were fine. What was I worried about again?

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to She’s been sprung!

  1. Bob says:

    The resiliency of youth, acceptance & understanding without fears or judgments. Only possible with the firmest foundation of the love you share. Well done Jen, very well done. Travel soon, travel safely.

  2. slammie says:

    awesome news! P&PT for your mom to be up and around in no time!

  3. Julie says:

    great news! In 3 months when my mom is allowed out of the house again they can shop together!

    I love Skylar’s response! I’d love to be a kid agian and only see the immediate problem. I don’t like thinking ahead, but I can’t help it!

  4. Rhonda says:

    Glad to hear good news about your mom. That has to ease your heart a little.

  5. jamie says:

    Your kids crack me up. Mine on the other hand think Noni’s leg is gonna grow back because of course that’s what Noni keeps telling them! So when we talk about her leg I get “Has it grown back yet?” Miss you…

  6. Kimberly Reed says:

    oh….i am so so happy to hear your mom is at home!!!!!!! yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    and dude. i have to laugh. love skylar’s response. i love it.

Leave a Reply

