Social Butterfly

Some Good News:

My Mom has been able to get OUT of the rehab facility to visit with others. On Sunday, she spent the entire day at my sister’s house. She got to hold the sweet baby, eat normal food, socialize in a relaxed atmosphere and feel like a regular person. She hasn’t done that since December. She hasn’t been out of a hospital bed since December. My heart did a dance of joy when I heard that news.

It was also the first time since I moved to Atlanta that I felt a wee-bit homesick. If I were still living in Florida, I would’ve been there to see it. Still… I’m happy.

Turns out, my Mom is now quite the social butterfly. She was out to dinner with friends last night too! Can you imagine the impact that is having on her spirit? She needed that boost… she needed a ‘reason’ – you know? I think she’s getting it & I am SO happy. FINALLY. (knocking on wood-throwing salt over my shoulder-crossing my fingers-saying a prayer) Please let this be. Please, please.

Good News is an amazing stress reliever.

Oh – what do you make of this?

The other night I heard a story on TV about a person who passed away. Not a big time celebrity but someone I had seen and enjoyed. So as I’m falling asleep, I said a few words in my head about them – hoping they are at peace. Last night that person turned up in a dream and gave me a hug.

And it was after the really disappointing part of my dream which made it even better… apparently, I was trying out for a part in “High School Musical” and Edie McClure (secretary in Ferris Buehler’s Day) told me I was too old. How dare she?! She’s no spring chicken herself!

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Butterfly

  1. slammie says:

    YAY for your mom!!!

  2. Rhonda says:

    That is great news about your mom.

  3. Mary says:

    So happy to hear about your mom. My mom is 87 years old and I know how I worry about her, even though her health problems are all age-related. You appreciate things so much more after not having them for awhile.

  4. jamie says:

    Mom and dad suprised me on Thursday for lunch…which they brought (salami and provolone…mmm…yummy). It was the most “normal” feeling with mom in a long time. We’re thinking of you…sending a hug and kiss….xoxo

Leave a Reply

