Like a good anti-depressant.

Spending time with friends is definitely good medicine. How can you not have fun with these girls? (have you ever seen such a happy woman holding a gun? and look at that baby belly – so cute!)

Oh – and that room we’re standing in – the one with all the loud video games and the air hockey table and loud obnoxious glow-in-the-dark carpet? Yeah. That used to be my office. They turned my office into a game room. In a weird way, I think it’s kind of appropriate.

One of the many amazing things about these two is that we talk just about every day & when we’re together there’s never run out of things to say. It was soooo sad to say good-bye to them! I miss them so much already!

(besides – I have to say nice things about them… they know way too much about me!)

We had a lovely, intimate, baby shower for our Jules. Jen used her Martha Stewart bird stamp so beautifully & I baked cupcakes. (Seriously – and they were edible!) Julie received the coolest diaper bag I’ve ever seen. We all fondled it – it feels like buttah.

Jen and Jules both have much more excellent photos on their blogs of our day together… they know how to use that flickr thing – I am blog-tech challenged.

Not only did I get to see my girls, but I also got to spend time with the most beautiful baby on the planet.

Am I lying? I don’t think so.

I also spent a good amount of one morning trying to get all five kids to look at the camera at the same time. Now *that* is exercise!

Mom is doing okay. We saw her on Sunday, finally. She was still in ICU but was in a lot less pain than the day before & her spirits seemed relatively high. The kids were great & got over the awkwardness of seeing their Noni hooked up to so many tubes pretty quickly. (they still don’t know about the leg – she keeps it covered) She has since been moved to a regular room & will hopefully be transferred back to the rehab place in the next few days.

Anyway… we drove back on Sunday afternoon after stopping in Lake City meet the MIL for dinner and pictures and more pictures.

Here’s one conversation from the trip back:

Me: “Mackie, stop licking your stuffed animal.”

Girl: “It’s not a stuffed animal, it’s my baby.”

Me: “Well, stop licking your baby. And put his pants back on please!”

(for the record, she was licking the face)

Even after the drive home, I came home feeling calmer and much more relaxed. Ahhhh… I took Monday off work & stayed off the computer too. It felt good. Besides, I needed time to master my crocheting. Cough.

But that’s tomorrow’s post. xoxo

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Like a good anti-depressant.

  1. Jen Jen says:

    OK, THIS IS MY MOST FAVORITIST POST EVER! AND I LOVE YOUR NEW BANNER, AND I LOVE BABY PICTURES, SHE IS SO STINKIN’ SCHWEEEET! AND I MISS YOU ALREADY TOO!

    AND IT’S GOOD TO KNOW THAT WE’RE NOT “BAD MEDICINE…” SUNG IN MY BEST BON JOVI IMPERSONATION!

  2. julie says:

    love the new look of your blog!

    That baby is to adorable, but I bet you mine gives her a run for the money in the cute department (its the genes, cute is hereditary)

    and lol at the game room comment! Considering some of the “work” that got done in there, yes, it is completely appropriate…

  3. Marti says:

    Glad you had a great time with the girls – you definitely needed it! Love the new look – and the big chicken is just superb. And that baby…ooooooh, that sweet baby. I want to lick HER head! (Reminds me of “quit licking the TV” and “Baby Jesus is not a car”…

  4. Kimberly Reed says:

    you big chicken lover! love the new blog banner.

    glad the time with your mom was good…that the kids did okay with her. now….as for cupcakes? and time with frineds? all i can say is i’m jealous. very jealous.

  5. Becky says:

    Big hugs. LOVE That picture and that baby is precious!

Leave a Reply

