Hold that thought.

Nothing can be easy or simple when it comes to my Mom’s recent health issues. She did not have surgery yesterday. The cardiologist wouldn’t release her until he can determine if her heart can handle it (quadruple bypass surgery May 2004). She’s scheduled for a stress test today & if she passes, the surgery will be this afternoon. It’s a simple (cough) “routine” surgery. She’s having her gallbladder removed. Because with terminal cancer, bad circulation, diabetes, an amputated leg… this would be the logical next step.

The worst part of all of this… yes, there’s a worse part. Is that when my Mom found out about the *immediate need* (that’s sarcasm, folks) to have her gallbladder taken out she was on her way to my sister’s house for a normal dinner with family. The first time in six months that she would’ve been eating a meal someplace other than in a hospital bed. My Dad was driving her to her doctor’s appointment since the rehab/nursing home place didn’t provide transportation. He gets the call on the way there saying that she needs to be admitted right away. That was Tuesday. It’s now Thursday morning and her gallbladder is still safely tucked away inside her abdomen.

I do want you to know that I appreciate your thoughts and prayers… and will be holding on to them a little while longer.

In the meantime, I had a follow-up doctor’s appointment yesterday. I also discovered that it’s a lot easier to remove your make-up at night after you’ve cried a bit during the day. (my beauty tip of the week – you can thank me later)

Apparently I’m a bit stressed out.

I know what you’re thinking… Jen? Stressed?? What could she possibly have to be stressed out about?!

I know, I know… but it’s true! My doctor even gave me a couple of prescriptions for it and recommended I do this thing called “exercise.” From what he told me it’s the only thing that *doesn’t* come in tablet form. Crap.

In other news – the whole family will be driving down to Florida tomorrow. It’s my Mom’s 57th birthday. The kids haven’t seen her in a while & I think they could all use some time together. We’re going to be staying at my sister’s house which means I’ll get to love on that baby some more. (oh – and maybe Jamie will read this blog before I call and tell her that we’ll be staying with her…’cause I’m a planner like that)

I’ll also be driving down to Orlando on Saturday to host a little baby shower for Jules. I can’t wait to see her and Jen! I know that seeing them will do me a lot of good!

(Laughing is exercise, right?)  

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hold that thought.

  1. Marti says:

    Exercise…that should be a four letter word. I need to do it too – want to suffer together?

    Big hugs, stress-ball. Keep laughing – it’ll keep you from crying.

    Let me know how things go with your mom today. You know the prayers are still flowing! Have a safe trip to FL.

    xoxo

  2. julie says:

    Awww, Princess! I am so sorry about your Mom and the stress. I will do my best to keep you laughing the entire time you are here! (btw, I’m supposed to ask if you need a room)

  3. island jen says:

    hmmmm…well, i know after a good laugh my stomach usually hurts along with my cheeks, and i do become breathless sometimes too…so laughing does have some of the same side effects as exercise, so i’m sure it counts!!

    i’m sure after an afternoon with jules and i all your worries will go away…well, i’m sure a shot or two of an alcoholic beverage might help too…hmmmm….

  4. Kimberly Reed says:

    yes. i NEED that margarita. i’ll be waiting.

    hope you have the best time with jen and julie. you really need it.

    and dude. what do the doctors even know. you….exercise? pfffttt. like you said….emergency…gallbladder out…right away….um…two days leter…it’s still there! just wait until exercise DOES come in pill form. i’m all for that.

    thinking about you…drive safe….

  5. Kimberly Reed says:

    ps: yay!! i can post again.

  6. slammie says:

    GIANT HUGS and P&PT heading out……safe and fun trip to FL!

  7. Rhonda says:

    I hope you have a safe trip.

Leave a Reply

