Knocked up.

No not me. (h-e-to-the-double-L-no) The movie.

Saw it last nigh & laughed a lot. A lot. It’s a funny movie.

There was something that surprised me about the movie… or maybe it surprised me about myself. This movie contains the F word. So much so that I noticed it & it stuck out to me. Like, “Why are they constantly saying the word? Couldn’t they have used a different word and made their point?” And then I complained about kids these days and their loud rock-n-roll music while mixing my glass of Geritol.  

Now… I’m normally a fan of the F word. I use it frequently when I can (which isn’t as often because of kids and work). But I do enjoy it’s versatility & it’s effectiveness. It’s a fun word to say!

However, in this movie almost every character used it – all the time! A lot! Over and over again! Is this just another example of me getting old?

Anyway… after the movie there was dinner. After the trip home… came the puking. I don’t know what the hell happened to my stomach, but it was not happy. It woke me up out of a sound sleep at 4:00am to express it’s disappointment with me.

The rest of the day has been spent making up for the lost sleep and gently nursing my queasy insides.

Is it irony that I get sick after seeing a movie about pregnancy? Don’t think that point went by unnoticed either. I really didn’t need the sympathy symptoms… been there, done that, had the episiotomy…twice. Thank you very much.

Okay – back to my prone position in bed and my protest campain against burritos.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knocked up.

  1. Dawn says:

    LOL morning hun, your journaling always makes me smile – you;re so good at it 🙂 Glad you enjoyed a great night out… have a great Monday 🙂

  2. julie says:

    poor Princess! Let me turn down the music for you and put on your “stories” while you lay quietly on the sofa and crochet yourself an afghan.

    Love ya!

    (And I love the irony of your choice of movie and subsequent symptoms, lol!)

  3. slammie says:

    HUGS! Hope that you’re feeling better today!

  4. Marti says:

    I’ve heard that movie is funny. But you got sick of hearing the F word? Unheard of, my friend…we *love* the F word!

  5. Rhonda says:

    I saw it, too, this past Saturday and I loved it. The language was a bit crude in parts, I agree. But I didn’t think it detracted from the movie. I felt like it was part of the character development of Ben and his goons!! =] lol Did you cry at the end? Wait…you may not be a sap like I am. I KNOW Lewis would cry if he saw it!!!! LMAO

  6. susan j says:

    Jen, after reading your last post …I realise that now is probably NOT the right time to comment on the fact that you are so BLOODY hilarious!! I LOVE reading your blog. Yes, I do come here, but because I have just been so thoroughly unmotivated lately (about everything) I have been too slack to comment!! I neeed more time in the day (for sleep). Sleep is for the weak!! That’s what I keep reminding myself anyway!!

    I really hope your mum gets her surgery and she flies through it ok. Have fun with your sis and I’ll be thinking of you!! I haven’t forgotten about you I swear.

Leave a Reply

