My uterus yelled at me.

I held Miss Emily Ann a lot. A lot. She is a tiny little peanut of a baby & so sweet and new and tiny. Did I mention she was tiny?  And beautiful. I loved getting to spend so much time with her. I also got to spend some time with Ashley and Ethan. That was a treat. Oh yeah – I also saw my sister and her husband. But it’s really not about them anymore, is it?

I visited with my Mom as well. It was emotional for both of us. She’s tired of being in the hospital, feels trapped, and feels alone. I don’t blame her. She’s sad that she couldn’t be there when Emily was born. She feels like she’s never going to get better. When I told her that I’d be coming down again for her birthday – and bringing the kids – she told me no. We’re both crying with me telling her not to give up, that I still need her. It was hard. Really. Hard. It’s a good thing I don’t drink and drive… ’cause I realllly wanted a beer after that visit. (I bought some at the store & had some when I got to their house)

I cooked dinner for my sister and family that night. I also made some baked ziti for them to have for a few days, if necessary. (my husband was surprised to hear about all this cooking – don’t tell him about the cleaning up part too, okay?)

I drove home Saturday in almost exactly five hours. Not too bad of a drive. (don’t worry, I left the beer at my sister’s house. Now that she has three kids – she needs it more than I do)

Holding the newborn made me think about having another baby.

It took me about 10 seconds to shake it off. I’m better now.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My uterus yelled at me.

  1. Julie says:

    She is precious! I want a girl! Do you think if I tried just ONE more time it would happen?

    Jen, put down the chloroform and cork…I’m kidding! Really!

    I should at least finish cooking this one before I even consider thinking about examining the possibility of another one.

    Does this mean you’re going to come cook for me too?

  2. chriselda says:

    bwahahahaha!
    this cracked me up.
    yes i’m still here
    lurking mostly
    but this, this i had to come out for
    i hold newborns all the time at work (photography studio)
    and my ovaries start clanking around
    i literally feel them tighten up and ask for more!
    and then my daycare calls and tells me my son has bit, yet another child, and that i need to come pick him up.
    and i, like you, get over the whole ovary and uterus thing

  3. Kimberly Reed says:

    precious, precious precious! i smell new baby smell. you know…new baby smell?! i’m not crazy. good thing i didn’t hold emily. i would definitely want another one too. and dude. i’m already so tired.

    i’ve been wondering how your mom is doing. sounds like your weekend was packed with high’s and low’s. i hope overall it was good time with your mom. hard….but good? at least a little?

    i don’t drink beer…i know…~GASP~. not to worry. i do drink most everything else. 😉 so i could go for a martini or a margarita. can ya get me one? i’ll get you a beer. or a martini. or a margarita. whatever you’re in the mood for.

    you’re a good person making some food for your sister.

  4. scout87 says:

    A teacher-friend of mine has a baby…I got to hold him last week. My ovaries were ACHING!!!! It took me more than 10 seconds to shake it off. More like 10 minutes.

    Your little niece is beautiful.

  5. Marti says:

    Little Emily Ann is just beautiful! I’m so glad you got to hold her so much & be there for your sister.

    I’m sorry about your mom – it breaks my heart to hear her so down. I wish we could just snap our fingers and she’d be out of the hospital. Hang in there, Jen Jen. xoxo

Leave a Reply

