I’m turning stupid.

Tonight at dinner… well, every night at dinner, I ask the kids about their day at school. This particular evening, my son tells me that today they learned about an artist. I ask him which artist he learned about. He can’t remember, but it’s someone who lived in Italy. I’m perplexed… I’m thinking… art, art, art… I know art, right? I love art. Who could it be?

Then he says that it was the guy who painted a church. I exclaim enthusiastically (confident in my knowledge)

LEONARDO DiCAPRIO!

Yeah, I should’ve just kept my mouth shut. It took me .0000000001 second to realize how wrong I was combined with the look on my husband’s face. Dammit, Jen. What is wrong with me?

Plus – it turns out he was talking about Michelangelo. Double d’oh.

I’ve had many of these really brilliant moments… and here’s another one: I have a close friend whose last name is Hawkins. She visited me a little while ago and showed me her new business cards. (she’s an HR consultant and a really talented artist – speaking of art) Anyway – there’s a bird flying over her name on the card. I say, “What is that – a falcon?”

She looks at me with the expression of “I wonder if she’s trying to be funny.” Unfortunately for me, I had the look on my face of “No, I’m really asking you. Seriously. Is that a falcon?” It was at that moment (admittedly, it was longer than tonight’s realization) that it was, in fact, a HAWK on the card.

I think I’m losing brain cells. Or maybe I’m not utilizing a part of my brain that was once a lot smarter? Or maybe I was never that smart and was just able to hide it better?

It reminds me of somethingI saw on TV. It was during those “man on the streets” question things on The Tonight Show. (not a fan of Jay Leno, but this was funny) He was asking simple questions to the everyday folk. Easy questions. Like, who fought in the Civil War, what’s the name of our Vice-President, etc. It was ridiculous to see what people didn’t know. My favorite was when they asked this woman, “Name the astronaut… Buzz _____” and she replies, “Lightyear!”

Yeah, tonight I had my Buzz Lightyear moment. And I have a feeling it’s not going to be my last.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m turning stupid.

  1. Bob says:

    To infinite, and Beyond!

  2. Tawnya says:

    I am cracking up. This sounds so much like me… its all good though right? lol

  3. Holly says:

    Brillinat. Just Brilliant.

  4. Marti says:

    I thought Lightyear too! But I don’t know if I would have actually said it out loud…

    Thanks for the laugh this morning…I definitely need it!

  5. Julie says:

    I love you!

  6. Kimberly Reed says:

    what you said…dude…that is SO me. are we related and just don’t know it?

  7. jen-jen says:

    I love you! I love you! I love you!!

Leave a Reply

