I raked and he sucked…

…leaves that is.

Yesterday was “Yard Work Day.” I’ve never had to do yard work because, well, I’ve never had a yard. Of course, I go from *no yard* to a ginormous-yard-filled-with-leaves-that-have-been-falling-for-years-without-anyone- ever-raking-them-ever.

So I raked. A lot. I have blisters on my hands (ouch) and my back and shoulders and arms are really sore. (similar to my cardio-strength class way back when) Ouch.

I don’t think anyone has raked this yard in years. I’m sure that I destroyed eco-systems and communities of bugs and other animals who had probably been living under those leaves for a long time. I was also very afraid that I’d find a live animal… or worse, a dead one.

At one point I was also imagining the first few minutes of a Law and Order episode… you know the ones where you see an unsuspecting couple talking about all the leaves they have to rake this year and then one of them comes across a dead body… the woman screams and the guy reaches for his cell phone to call 9-1-1.

It didn’t happen, but it could have. There were that many leaves.

He was thrilled to go to Home Depot and purchase a yard tool that sucked up the leaves and even mulched them. He was doing that for a lot longer than I raked.

Can you hear our neighbors laughing at us? I can.

Here’s what we have left to do… the side yard.

Daunting. And I don’t think it’s going to happen this weekend.

And we discovered that the reason no one raked this yard is because they probably knew what we didn’t… there wasn’t much grass under there! Anyone know how to make grass grow? I have no clue.

I haven’t mentioned the back yard (notice the wood fence) that is also covered with leaves – and a lot more trees. 

I’m thinking it might just stay covered in leaves for a while.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I raked and he sucked…

  1. Jules says:

    and the big question I have for you oh Yard Princess…if you don’t know how to make grass grow, do you at least now what to do with all that mulch Chris is making? lol!

  2. Bob says:

    That’s a lot of leaves! I rake mine into the forest.

    So far as making grass grow, you need sunshine & fertilizer. There is also some grasses that grow ,best if not better, in shade.

    Seed and water. Even here, seventh year later, I still broadcast several pounds of seed annually into the lawn.

    If you have pine trees, you will need lime to sweeten the soil from the pine needle drops.

  3. Bob says:

    PS The more you seed, the more you mow.

  4. Rhonda says:

    It may be a lot of work, but I’d give anything to have my own yard, blisters, backaches and all! I’m tired of being an apartment dweller.

  5. Lewis says:

    I bought that vacuum/mulcher/leafblower thing! It sucked… No, really. It SUCKED. I was gonna take it back until I found out that you can turn it upside down and make Sno-Cones with it! The kids loved ’em! Of course you’d need to get your own flavors. Seems Black & Decker doesn’t package the Hedgehog with ’em.

    Unfortunately, there’s not a whole lot you can do at this point in the year to make more grass grow. Early spring and fall are the times for seeding. First off, loosen soil (aerate) so that the hard packed Georgia clay can breathe and take in the nutrients you give it through fertilizing and watering. Weed killer in early summer or as needed. What to do with all that mulch, you ask? Spread it back out on the lawn. Exposing all those hard packed bare spots will only dry them out more. The mulched leaves act as a wonderful (see “free”) blanket and covering to help keep moisture in and water runoff at bay. We’ll talk before fall.

    Prattling on about grass… I’m getting old.

  6. Lewis says:

    I bought that vacuum/mulcher/leafblower thing! It sucked… No, really. It SUCKED. I was gonna take it back until I found out that you can turn it upside down and make Sno-Cones with it! The kids loved ’em! Of course you’d need to get your own flavors. Seems Black & Decker doesn’t package the Hedgehog with ’em.

    Unfortunately, there’s not a whole lot you can do at this point in the year to make more grass grow. Early spring and fall are the times for seeding. First off, loosen soil (aerate) so that the hard packed Georgia clay can breathe and take in the nutrients you give it through fertilizing and watering. Weed killer in early summer or as needed. What to do with all that mulch, you ask? Spread it back out on the lawn. Exposing all those hard packed bare spots will only dry them out more. The mulched leaves act as a wonderful (see “free”) blanket and covering to help keep moisture in and water runoff at bay. We’ll talk before fall.

    (Did I just black out?)

    Prattling on about grass… I’m getting old.

Leave a Reply

