I baked. I’m a baker.

Work has been seriously kicking my ass. Big time.

The weekends seem to go by so fast – too fast. But – I must say that my days at work are going by just as fast. It’s crazy. There is not enough time to get as much done as I need to. And I will be bringing work home more than I really want to. Working at a hotel should not be this stressful. It’s a hotel for crying out loud – it’s not anything really ‘important.’ You know?

Last weekend we were in charge of dessert for Easter dinner. I decided to make a cake. (stop laughing)

I got out my handy-dandy Four Ingredient Cookbook and whipped up this snazzy culinary delight:

The best part? It actually tasted even better than it looked! No one was more shocked than me. For sure. Even those who vowed not to eat dessert couldn’t resist my delicious creation. (I freakin’ love that cookbook)

And as if I needed more to do, I decided to put together a little surprise for my sister… she’s having a baby in about four weeks and it’s the least I can do. I feel horrible when I complain to her about how crappy I feel or how stressed out I am.

She’s a charge nurse who works the overnight shift and is pregnant with her third child. She takes care of sick kids for a living. And she’s been visiting my Mom on her ‘free time.’ So… I try not to whine too much – but she does let me vent and doesn’t tell me to shut the hell up.

Anyway… here’s a tiny peek at her surprise (’cause she sometimes reads my blog):

This weekend I’ll give my sister her surprise in person. We’re going down to Florida and celebrating my nephew’s 2nd birthday… and visiting my Mom.

I’m also going to start looking for some additional hobbies… I’m just not busy enough.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I baked. I’m a baker.

  1. islandjen says:

    WOW! I might need to borrow that book!! Are you going to scrapbook the cake…cuz seriously, you might want to! Future generations may not believe thestory of how great, great, great, great grandma jen once cooked an incrdible dessert only using 4 ingredients!

    I’m just saying…you might want to think about it!

    And your sis is so lucky she’s getting such a fantabulous gift!

    P.S. Do you want to learn how to make a scentless candle?

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    omg that cake looks SO delicious!!!!!!!!! eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. give me some!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    and dude..totally laughing my ass off. yeah. you’re not busy enough.

    your sister’s project looks (from the itty bitty part i can see)..fab! have a really good time with your family this weekend…happy birthday to the nephew….hope your mom is feeling good this weekend.

  3. Rhonda says:

    You baking diva! BUT, you know you have set a precedence…they’ll expect more culinary delights in the future.

    =]

  4. Jules says:

    that is one seriously rocking cake! Wow! I’m going to have to get that book…

  5. Marti says:

    Okay, now that I recovered from the fall from fainting…that cake looks *amazing*! I’m so proud of you! YOU’RE BAKING! (just like you sail..)

    I can’t wait to see the whole thing that you made for Jamie. It looks cute so far! I also hope you had a nice time with your mom. I can’t wait to hear about it. xoxo

  6. Dawn says:

    Hi Jen… what a feast for the eyes, I can taste that cake from here. Hope your w/e in Floriday was a good one and that your Mum is doing OK. Have a great week hun xx

Leave a Reply

