Shoe Totem and Time Off

I decided to take a few days off of work this week and spend some time with the kids. I also had to get some official business taken care of… like becoming an official citizen of the state of Georgia. I handed over my Florida Drivers License & got a Georgia one. Weird. No more Florida resident discounts. (sob)

I also got to meet Becky – a design team member with me on Serendipity Scrapbook Kits. She lives near me & works in downtown Marietta. The little girl and I met her for lunch and a walk over to the biggest stamp store I’ve ever seen. And it was closed. Again. *sigh* But – meeting Becky was definitely worth it. She was so nice and so sweet. I can’t wait to get together with her again.

Yesterday we were planning on meeting Marti and her family for a free day at Six Flags over Georgia. We didn’t anticipate that 11,000+ people had the same plan. We woke up at 5:00am to get there ‘early’ and beat the crowds. Ha! Luckily, Marti heard on the radio that at 6:00am (as we were walking out to the car) the park was already at capacity. We got in the car anyway and got some breakfast. And then we came home and took a nap. (well, that’s what I did)

We decided to go to Babyland General Hospital – the home of the Cabbage Patch Kids. (the little one has been begging to go ever since we got to Georgia) It’s 90 minutes north of Atlanta in a small town called Cleveland Georgia. And if I didn’t think I was in ‘The South’ before – that drive totally confirmed it for me. Wowza. You could almost hear the banjos playing. It was a beautiful drive & a semi-culture shock.

The girl was in Cabbage Patch Kid heaven.

Today… Marti and the kids came over to play. The kids – well, I’m not really sure what they did… but Marti and I did some scrapping. Yayyy! We both each got two fab pages done!

After the big play date the kids and I hung out and relaxed. The girl and I watched ‘The Sound of Music.’ She loves it and so. do. I.

I had asked both kids to straighten up their rooms a bit. The girl needed to put her shoes away. A little later I went into her room to get her ready for bed… and I found this:

She straightened up her shoes all right.

(are those pink boots awesome or what?)

Tomorrow I’m determined to see The Big Chicken. *fingers crossed*

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shoe Totem and Time Off

  1. Rhonda says:

    How funny!! =] I’m totally diggin’ that shoe totem pole! I don’t have any sassy pink boots to be the base though. =/

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    THERE you are! i was worried about you!!!

    you’re just becoming a regular ole georgia peach aren’t ya?! lol… no more florida driver’s license….six flags…dude. total bummer the park was already at capacity.

    and yes. those pink boots are the bomb!!

    glad you got to do a little scrapping. you gonna share the fruit of your labor? hmmm? lol…. or did you already on 2 peas. i should go there. yeah. i should.

    glad you got to spend some time with the kids. and meet someone from serendipity. fun!

    how’s your mom? email me. i sent you one yesterday…the day before? who can remember…

  3. dc.bs says:

    Nice shoe storage & space saving sculpture, artfully rendered and captured. (although pink books don’t quite do it for ME – it’s mud season with a foot of new snow and all that stuff).

    Sounds like you are gently enjoying the new digs, culture and region. How soon do the banjo lessons start?

Leave a Reply

