Just when you thought there was light..

My Mom is in the hospital… again. Yesterday my sister went and visited her at the rehab place. She noticed that my Mom’s right leg (the one that just had surgery on it) was purple. She called the nurse who had her transported to the emergency room.

They have determined that the graft they put into her leg early this month is blocked. They can’t go in surgically to fix it because the wound hasn’t healed (Mom pulled all the staples out of it). If they went in it could cause an infection that could spread to the graft under her arm which could compromise the arm itself & they’d have to amputate it. So they put her on an IV with medicine to see if her body can shrink these clots on it’s own.

If not, they may have to amputate the entire leg.

You know… at some point you start asking WHY? I don’t know if I’m asking anyone in particular… just throwing it out there to the universe. My sister says that you can’t ask those kinds of questions… or say that it’s not ‘fair.’ What’s fair?  She works in pediatrics & see lots of sick little kids… she can’t ask ‘why them.’ There are no reasons, no explanations.

I can’t help it. I’m still asking.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just when you thought there was light..

  1. Rhonda says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this =[ It’s normal to ask ‘why’, but ultimately only God knows (which may not be what you want to hear…sorry). I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Dawn says:

    Jen, it saddens me to hear about your Mum and I totally understand you asking ‘why?’… I’m sorry I have no answers, but I’m always around to listen… sending you a huge hug XX

  3. julie says:

    {{{HUGS}}}

    ask all you want, there is no shame in asking

  4. Kimberly Reed says:

    i’m so sorry. and why shouldn’t you ask why? it’s not fair…..what is happening with your mom. it’s just not. you have a right to question….to be angry. it just makes you wonder. wtf? WHY is this happening? i wish i could take all this away for you, make it better. just know that i am here. if ever you need anything (whatever the hell it would be i could do from so far away i’ll never know)…not that that does you any good….but i am thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

