Bloom and Grow

Our first official non-moving weekend in Atlanta. The days have been beautiful. Blue skies and birds chirping. This picture was taken in the front yard of my sister-in-law’s house.

Update on Mom: She’s still in the rehab/nursing home place. They removed her stitches  & are doing physical therapy.  She hates it there – it’s filled with lots of old people… really old people. She hasn’t walked in over three months. They’re going to fit her for a prosthetic this week & I know that will be difficult for her. Dad says that once she gets out they’re going to come up here to visit. I can’t wait.

I’m talking to her more often these days. She’s much more coherent. It’s made me realize how much I missed talking to her all the time. I used to call her at least every other day… and see her at least twice a month. The past few months have been so hard on so many levels, but most of all I missed being able to talk to her.

I’m not sure what the plan is for the cancer treatment. One thing at a time right now.

She saw the kids on our way up to Atlanta. Skylar thought there were dead people in the hall… no Skylar, they’re just sleeping. (really old people) Seeing the kids was good for her – reminding her how much she has to live for. It also upset her… reminding her of how much she may miss. Being so coherent, she’s very aware of how sick she is.

 ** The picture above is a Dogwood Tree. I’m in love with them. I’ve never seen them before – ever. They’ve bloomed all over town & are so striking with their snow-white blooms and dark bark. I love seeing flowers blooming!

I remember Marti telling me that Spring is so much more noticeable around here because of the lack of green during the winter. That’s something I’m not used to. It’s green year-round in Florida – there’s no discernible seasons, you know. Marti’s right – the flowers that are blooming stand out so much & make you appreciate them even more!

I am loving Atlanta!

Okay… back to unpacking. (or supervising… whatev)

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bloom and Grow

  1. Mary says:

    One of the best things about moving from Florida to Indiana is seeing winter change to spring. I didn’t ever think much about it until my first spring up here and then I realized I had missed it. Also, I can grow tulips here. Woo-hoo.

  2. Rhonda says:

    The dogwoods are beautiful, but my very favorite tree is the jacaranda tree…the beautiful lavendar blooms all over the tree. So pretty.

    Hope you get to see your mom soon.
    XOXO

  3. julie says:

    beautiful tree…but you’renot allowed to love Atlanta! You’re supposed to miss Orlando horribly and PINE for us!

Leave a comment