a smidge of good news

We have a place to live. Hallelujah! The search for a home was more difficult than I expected, but it was worth it. We found a house! We’ll rent it for at least a year… and I’m thrilled! No more apartment living! No more having people next to us or beneath us. A house. It’s not a big house. It’s not a brand new house. But it’s a house. It has enough bedrooms and bathrooms… a two-car garage and a basement! A deck on the back and a corner lot! Lots of yard!

The best part? We’re less than two miles away from my sister-in-law! And that was a total coincidence. It’s brilliant. We’re all so excited! The elementary school is excellent & we’re two blocks from the high school. (we’ll be able to hear the marching band during football season! yeeeee!)

Only two more weeks of being away from my family & living in a hotel… I will be counting down the minutes and the seconds. It can’t get here soon enough.

My Mom is doing about the same. She had surgery last week to amputate her leg from the knee down. Sometimes she thinks her leg is still there & sometimes she realizes it’s not and gets really upset. My sister and I are getting conflicting reports on her prognosis. My Dad has so much hope that all of this is curable… he’s talking about the future with her – coming to Atlanta to visit… getting her a prosthetic leg so she can walk…  I’m glad he has such hope, but I just wonder if he’s being too unrealistic. My sister is going to talk to a case manager to see if we can get the real story. We have a feeling that my Dad’s view might be clouded by his hope. We don’t want him to lose hope… I’m thinking that’s how he’s coping with all of this… but we want to know what’s really going on so we can be prepared. And we’ve heard that it’s just a matter of months.

I’ll be down there to see her in a couple of weeks. I’m actually nervous to see her without a part of her leg… I don’t want to freak out or get overly upset, you know?

So… still a lot going on, but at least now I can cross one thing off my list of stresses. We have a place to live & it’s not in a van down by the river. I’m going to drive by it today and take a picture of it. I can’t wait for the kids to see it.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a smidge of good news

  1. Rhonda says:

    LOL (at the Chris Farley/van down by the river reference…not at anything else).

    Glad to hear you will have a home again soon and your family will be with you under your wings before you know it.

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    dude.
    congrats on the house!!!! i can’t wait to see it and of course i’m not even one of your kids! woot woot for only two more weeks of hotel living (though seriously….try to enjoy at least SOME more room service and uninterrupted television time)..k? and yes. i know you would rather be with your family. just humor me. let me live through you. 😉

    in other news i’m sending you an email.

  3. Kimberly Reed says:

    hmmm…okay. yeah. just sent you an email but then i realized that might no longer be a good email addy since you’re in atlanta now. if you don’t get anything from me give me your new email addy. k?

  4. Marti says:

    I can’t wait to see the new digs. When is the housewarming party? That’s a pretty big one to check off your list – whew. One less thing to worry about – the pieces are all falling into place.

  5. Holly! says:

    Congrats. I am praying for you!!!

Leave a Reply

