1447.79

That’s how many miles I drove this week. That doesn’t count what I drove today when I got lost on my way to the apartment finder place. 

And I’m not a trucker. (if I were, I’d be driving one of those really cool trucks with a bed and a shower in the back… and if I saw a kid signalling me to honk my horn from the back of their station wagon on their long-ass trip from Florida to New York while their grandmother chain-smoked cigarettes in the front seat with the windows rolled UP…I totally would…’cause I’d be a cool trucker like that.)

I have always loved to drive. I think it’s something that runs in the family. Usually my sister is behind the wheel when she’s with her family… and so am I. When I was younger it gave me such a feeling of independence. I could get out of the house and go anywhere I wanted to. (as long as I was home by midnight – curfews and all)

After driving 1447.79 miles this week, I’m all stocked up on the driving thing. Two trips back and forth from Atlanta to Orlando have done me in. That’s got to be like 144 trips to the grocery store or 90 trips to Target. I’m good – thanks.

Thank goodness for satellite radio. Thank goodness for Howard Stern. He made my trip bearable.

This weekend the husband and kids will make the trip up. I’m not driving anywhere. (my engine light came on today – that’s always a good sign) I plan on being an awesome back-seat driver (from the front passenger seat), pointing out parking places, telling him where to go (and where to drive to) and holding the fast-food bags while we try to find a place to live.

I’m an excellent driver. (just ask the cop that pulled me over on the way down to Orlando on Saturday)

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 1447.79

  1. Kimberly Reed says:

    dude. tell me he did not write you a ticket. how could he? you flash him your pretty little smile?

    you are some sort of wonder woman with everything you’ve been doing and everything you have going on. how’s that new job anyway. and how are you liking atlanta? happy hunting for a place to live.

    thinking about you….

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    oh yeah. um….doh……happy valentine’s day. forgot to say that!

  3. Rhonda says:

    I hate to drive. Hate it. Couldn’t wait until I COULD drive…16 couldn’t come fast enough. And I enjoyed driving for a good 5-10 years. Sweet freedom!!! Now I loathe it…detest it…wish I could hire a personal chauffeur. The problem is no one knows how to drive but me 😉 If everyone followed MY rules and drove as well as I do, then I might not hate it so much . No seriously—I think driving brings out the impatience and rudeness of most people. Grrrrrrrr.

  4. Darcy H says:

    =) Glad you like to drive because you sure have been doing a lot of it!! Glad you get to stay in Hotlanta this weekend and the hubby and kids are coming to see you. =) GOOD luck house shopping!!

  5. islandjen says:

    lmao..i can’t believe you got a ticket!! bwaahahah!! that’s what you get for moving to atlanta! see how i’m STILL not over it?

  6. Jules says:

    lol…good thing the cop thought you were cute! Yeah, he told you he knocked the ticket down because you told him your sad (and totally true) story…but really it’s because you are HOT!

Leave a Reply

