Thursday

I’ve been here four days and I’m already dealing with crazy issues. Oh – and today I signed the first termination of my employment here. Four days. I said to the Controller as he told me about some problem or issue, “Ya’ll <yes, I said ya’ll> didn’t tell me about this stuff when I interviewed for the job.” He said, “Did you ever hear the story about how the devil made Hell look on Recruiting Day?” Funny guy.

I finally left the warm comfy hotel for a visit to Marti’s house. It’s funny… I left my office & walked to my room for the first time in DAYLIGHT. Each time I’ve been to my room it’s been dark outside. Okay. Maybe that’s not funny… more like sad. Anyway… I got really detailed directions to Marti’s house & headed out. It took me about an hour… and I only had to call Marti once. (she called me the other time)

We had dinner & watched Lost and Grey’s Anatomy. We were supposed to watch Survivor (season premier) but for some reason *cough* it didn’t tape.

Do we still call it ‘tape’ when it’s really not ‘taping’ – do people call it DVR’ing? I’ve heard Tivo’ing… but isn’t that a brand name and not actually what you’re doing?

I digress.

It was nice spending time with Marti and her family, but it made me miss my kids even more.

Now it’s midnight & I’m back at the hotel safe and sound. (drove with the dome light on so I could read the directions on how to get back to the hotel) I’m in my office waiting for my phone to ring. My Mom is having surgery to repair the clots that are blocking blood flow to her legs. If they can’t fix it, they’re talking about amputating her legs from the knees down.

This is why the doctor previously told us that the cancer is the least of her problems right now. Her circulation is the major issue. Right now I’m waiting to hear that she’s in recovery because the surgery itself is going to be tough on her… due to her clotting, her heart, her low blood pressure, and the infection that is in the wound from her surgery last March that won’t heal.

I know… way to bring a party down, Jen. But – this is my journal… & I feel like if I didn’t mention it I truly wouldn’t be sharing the complete picture of my life right now.  And being so far away while this is happening really sucks.

My sister just called to let me know that my Mom is in recovery. She’ll stay there until tomorrow. She said that her left leg is pink & looks like it’s getting blood flow. Her right leg is pink to her heel – but the top of the foot still doesn’t look good. The doctor said that the next 12 – 24 hours are critical. (that sounds like a line out of every medical TV drama I’ve ever watched… and we all know how much TV I watch, so that’s a lot)

I guess I can go to bed now & try to sleep.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thursday

  1. Kimberly Reed says:

    i’m glad you went to see marti. you needed that.

    as for your mom?? glad she’s out of surgery. hope the next 12-24 hours work wonders and the top of her foot becomes all pink and rosie too.

    how are you even functioning???!!! seriously. you are amazing. thinking about you…take care of you!

  2. Jen, I’ve told Marti and now I’ll tell you myself that I think about you often and want things to turn around for you so much. I want you to be reunited with your family and your mother to be well. I am wishing you all the very best and keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Jules says:

    loving you and glad you have Marti there

  4. islandjen says:

    Glad you finally made it out of the lap of luxery with maid service and room service…oh i mean, your hotel room! Also glad to hear they’re working you like a dawg! Makes you miss us here in Florida doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

