What’s the weather like?

They say that it’s pretty cold here in Atlanta. I know it’s not as cold as some other parts of the country… but for this Florida gal, it’s mighty chilly…I hear. I wouldn’t know myself because I haven’t stepped one (stylishly clad) foot outside this hotel since I arrived on Sunday night.

At this point, I’m almost afraid to leave. By the time my day is done it’s dark outside. Can I leave when it’s dark? What if I get lost? What if I can’t find my way back? It’s rush hour & there’s all that traffic…Plus… it’s COLD out there! What if I freeze because I’m lost in a strange place, stuck in traffic and ill-prepared to handle such harsh winter weather. (so what if it was 58 degrees today – I’m from Florida!)

What’s wrong with staying in my room, looking over documents, while I eat room service and watch American Idol? (finally – only one audition night left and we can get to Hollywood… yeesh.. enough of this stuff already) It’s cold enough in my room!

Other than my new developing fear of the outdoors… (add it to the list, Marti) Atlanta has been good. I don’t really feel like I’m in Atlanta though. I’m sure getting *out* and actually driving around would probably help. I also don’t feel like this is permanent yet. I’m staying in the hotel like a guest, so I feel like I’m just visiting… I’m simply helping out until their ‘real’ HR Director shows up.

Everyone has been very kind to me and very welcoming. But – I *am* their HR Director… so that’s what most people do when the new “Principal” shows up at school. Know what I mean? I’m sure they’re all feeling me out and wondering what I’m really going to be like… and that’s okay. I’m sure they have no idea what they’re in for… pirate jokes, tiaras, Justin Timberlake and all.

I miss my kids in a crazy way. Like majorly crazy. It’s not as if I’ve never gone out of town on a trip before without them… but when I’m on those trips I’m so busy with friends and having fun (I mean, learning important HR stuff) there’s not a lot of time to get lonely. Here I’m at work for 10+ hours a day and then I’m in a hotel room and I’m all by myself (eating room service and watching TV – see above) that it makes me really, really miss them… the quiet time before they go to bed… and talking to them about their day.

Okay… I guess that’s enough for now. See how lonely I am? I’m rambling on and on to this screen when I could be up in my room getting ready for American Idol to start!

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s the weather like?

  1. Jules says:

    I love you! I wish I could come keep you company. It’s better than waiting for the axe to fall or the shoe to drop or whatever. Although…at the moment staying at a hotel, eating room service and watching tv sounds awesome. (and yes, I know, the whole kids thing, blah, blah…have you met my kids?) Of course, I doubt the hotel has tivo, so I couldn’t properly enjoy AI. Miss you girlie!

  2. Rhonda says:

    It’s difficult being away from your babies…Jordan stayed with my family in Indy for a month this past summer, and though I enjoyed the ‘me’ time that I never get, I missed him more than I ever thought possible and was ready for him to be back after about ten days. I missed every little thing about him! But take advantage of this time. Enjoy that room service…and the hotel life 😉
    XOXO

  3. Rhonda says:

    P.S. I added you to my blogroll…hope you don’t mind! 🙂

  4. Kimberly Reed says:

    seems like i haven’t had much jen lately! i really hope you’re doing okay in atlanta. don’t miss the kids too much (says the woman who is about to drive six hours in the car with hers tomorrow). try to get some scrapping in. if you’re any kind of a scrapper (and you are) i’m sure you packed some stuff. right?

    order some food in for me. i know…grass is always greener…but dude. i would love some room service, tevlevision and uninterrupted scrap time. easy for me to say. i’m not alone. in atlanta. starting a new job. speaking of which…

    hope the job is going well. wear your tiara. show ’em whose boss right from the get go. ~wink~ been thinking about you…

  5. medreamcatcher says:

    Trade your 58 for a day time high in the near teens…..Hope all cotinues to go well & better.

Leave a Reply

