What a Difference…

… a day can make.

I talked to my committee (close friends & co-workers) and came up with a strategy. I called and made a counter-offer.

I’m not good at these kinds of games. Oh – I’ll kick your ass in a game of Pounce. (well, maybe if Marti isn’t playing) I’d rather not play corporate ego-greed-strategic kind of games.

It’s like buying a car. I hate that. Same kind of thing to me… having the sales person go back so they can “ask their manager”. Like this job offer thing… you have to be prepared and satisfied with WALKING AWAY. No regrets.

I wasn’t prepared to do that last night. I felt powerless. Stuck.

This morning I got a dose of confidence and some amazing advice from my committee.

I did it. I said my case – kept it short and to the point. Most important of all… I didn’t CRY. (and that, my friends, is quite an accomplishment for me these days) I explained my thought process behind my counter-offer which included my company experience and my knowledge of policies, procedures and benefits that no outside candidate would possess. For that, I think I am worth the additional amount.

I haven’t heard back yet & I’m okay with that. Because I’m prepared to walk away. I have options.

Yep. Options. The power shifted.

Then this afternoon a whole sky of options opened in front of me… and that was completely unexpected. A phone call out of the blue from a former boss looking for a “strong HR Director.

And he called me. I don’t know if I was the first or the nineteenth person on his list of “strong HRD” contacts… but I don’t care. He called me and he gave me an option. That option coupled with the task force opportunity and the job market here in Orlando made me realize that I didn’t have to settle or be too (terribly) scared.

Don’t get me wrong… I’m still worried. Concerned. It’s okay. If I didn’t feel those things I’d make sure the doctor lowered my dosage. Ha! You’re supposed to feel something, right?

Am I making sense? ‘Cause lately I’ve had trouble putting my thoughts into words… without lots of blubbering.

Oh – Chriselda? You are so right on about Grey’s Anatomy. I really need to stay away from that show right now. Yeesh. Thank goodness I didn’t have to talk to any potential future bosses while watching that show. I could not hold it together.

Today, The Girl Who Needs to Update her Blog  suggested I go the Michael Jackson route and wear a glove on my left hand due to my manic nail-biting phase. She’s always looking out for me and I will definitely consider this very smart fashion advice.

So maybe this feeling of okay’ness will last a little while. (please, please… just a little bit) I have some time off coming to me next week and would love some peace. Just a little bit of peace.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a Difference…

  1. Kimberly Reed says:

    well all right girlfriend. they are coming to YOU. you have many options. breathe. relax. it will be okay. you are one kick-ass HR director. yup. you are. how do i know? because they are calling YOU.

    good for you (on making a counter). hopefully you will hear something soon.

    rest. take care of you…..

  2. Bob says:

    Are you ready to begin again? To leave it all behind?

    Remember who is the HRock Star!

    Best wishes dear friend.

  3. Marti says:

    Where’s that little cheerleader emoticon?

Leave a Reply

