$20 Mascara

I don’t usually spend a lot of money on make-up. I’m a drug store kind of gal when it comes to that stuff. Saturday in Atlanta, Marti and I went into Sephora and tried on some of their products.

First I tried on this lip plumping gloss. It seemed okay when it was first applied. About five minutes later I thought my lips were going to burst into flames and run screaming from my face. OMG. I’m not one to argue with the whole ‘pain for beauty’ routine… I wear high heels and will suffer through some control top panty hose with the best of ’em. But that lip gloss was too much.

(and it cost $36)

At the airport I grabbed a quick bite to eat. Chicken wings. Guess what? Those wings gave my lips the same feeling as that damn lip gloss. Now if I decide I want plump lips I think I’ll go the cheaper ‘wing’ route and enjoy some celery and blue cheese too. (and a couple of beers)

Next Marti and I tried on some lash plumping mascara.

Side note: Why do they make products to plump up facial features? No other beauty products boast their ability to make your thighs plumper… or to give you a more rounded stomach…?? Such a double-standard in body parts.

Anyway… I’ve had my issues with mascara. No matter what kind I use (from the drug store) I wind up with it half-way down my face before lunch. I’m constantly checking my eyes to see if those dark circles have shown up. Most of the time it’s from the mascara… lately, I can’t use the mascara excuse… those dark circles are just *there* – but it’s not like I need anymore help. You know?

So… we tried on the $20 mascara. And guess what? It worked. No smudges… and even with me being teary-eyed throughout the day… traveling on an airplane… none of it made my mascara smudge.

I think I may splurge a bit and buy myself some of that $20 mascara. Hey Marti… do you happen to remember the brand name? ‘Cause I can’t.

In other news:

  • Marti knitted me an awesome scarf. I think I’ll be able to wear it tomorrow. It’s supposed to be down in the 50s here & that’s when we break out the winter wear. I can’t wait.
  • I will be working at my hotel until Friday. Three more days. It’s surreal. I packed up most of my stuff today and lots of office files too. More of that will be going on until we send it all out on Friday.
  • No news on the Atlanta job. Apparently there are discussions taking place between my current boss, the corporate office and my (fingers crossed) future boss. My current boss isn’t letting on. Hmmpf.
  • Mom had a good day yesterday. I think having all three of her daughters around her helped her a lot. She’s got about five more treatments of radiation and then they’ll check the tumor. The prognosis hasn’t changed and she doesn’t know about it yet. We’re all trying to be as positive as possible around her right now.

Thanks for all your thoughts and prayers. It’s not an easy time for me right now, but I’m trying not to hang over the edge too much. I feel everyone’s support and love and it definitely helps me get through each day… each moment.

I’m so thankful for my friends…for you.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to $20 Mascara

  1. Kimberly Reed says:

    why do i feel like a stalker when i come to your blog? oh. maybe because i check it out almost daily. yeah. that’s it. am i scaring you?

    stay as positive as you can. your mom needs that. so do you. you know i’m thinking about you.

    thinking positive thoughts about the job too….

    now i’m off to hide from my children. hey. their father is home. it’s his turn for a while. 😉

  2. Rhonda says:

    You made me laugh so hard with your “chicken wing–lip plumper” idea. 🙂 I have a vision of you and Marti all dolled up with your $20 mascara and orange, greasy lips!!!

    XOXO

  3. Jules says:

    you know what? You DESERVE $20 mascara! If only because I will so be bugging you every second of the work day until I learn how to ride this horse.

  4. islandjen says:

    $20 is so worth it to keep those eyelashes batting away! I’m sure you will find out about Atlanta soon!! I’ve got my fingers and legs crossed for you. (TJ totally hates when I root for other people…bwahhahhah)

  5. Marti says:

    Oh yes, we’ll find the mascara. Want to go shopping in a couple of weeks? In Atlanta? Want to go out for coffee? Want to come over for dinner? Want to go out to dinner?

    WOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

