Hospital Visit

I took the kids up to the hospital to see my Mom. I think she really enjoyed seeing the kids. She was in pretty good spirits… but then she started telling me about where she’s put things around the house and to take care of certain things “in case anything happens.” That just hurts my heart.

This morning they did a test on the bone marrow in her spine to see if there are any abnormal (cancerous?) cells in there. We should have the results on Tuesday or Wednesday. The mass in her back is intertwined with her spine – hence the need for the bone marrow test. This also explains her major back pain & her inability to walk.

We just wonder how long the mass has been there. She hasn’t been able to walk well since June 2004 & the back pain started about 5 months ago. It makes you think, you know? Like – why wasn’t this mass on her back ever discovered before? I know I should look forward, but sometimes you can’t help it.  

I need to do some research on bone marrow cancer… or maybe not. Those medical sights can scare the bejeesus out of you. We’ll see.

If it is cancer, we’re thinking it’s either surgery or chemo or both… we don’t know. I guess we’ll know more when the results come out.

My Mom is much too young to be dealing with all of this. My sister reminded me that some things aren’t fair… when I was asking her why there are other people perfectly healthy who are much older than 56 years. But then, she’s a pediatric nurse, so she sees a lot of things that wouldn’t be considered “fair”. 

Dad is spending the night at the hospital so they can celebrate New Year’s Eve together. He brought food, noise makers, and sparkling cider.

In the past year, she’s been hospitalized during many family holidays and events. She missed both my kids’ birthdays this year… Christmas and now New Year’s Eve…each time she was in the hospital for one thing or another. I know that those are just days.. but when I thought of that, it made me sad. I know it makes her sad too.

We made plans for this weekend – if she’s at home – to celebrate Christmas.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hospital Visit

  1. Kimberly Reed says:

    I am so sorry your mom is going through all of this. And you too. Your whole family. Your dad is so very sweet though to bring in fun things to celebrate with and to stay with your mom. I know it’s hard when things are down to stay positive. But you need that. Don’t do any research. Not yet. Wait. See what the results show. I like to think that 2007 will bring better health to your nom. I’m thinking about you…and hoping you ring in the new year with happiness.

    And I hope you get to celebrate Christmas this weekend with your mom….

    Thanks for making 2006 better for me….and 2007 too!

  2. Marti says:

    Tell Mom that we’re praying for her. Don’t look anything up until you have a diagnosis…you don’t need anything else to worry about.

    xoxo

  3. Kimberly Reed says:

    Oh Miss Glittery Pea who changed her title…..how did Julie ruin glitter for you forever. I must know. lol…

Leave a Reply

