So behind the times.

I made the kids’ teachers altered lunchboxes. Here is the one for the boy’s teacher:

It’s filled with lots of CHOCOLATE. (hope she’s not allergic or something)

I used the awesome December kit from Serendipity Scrapbook Designs… ’cause it rocked. The paper is Three Bugs in a Rug. I added the ribbon & glitter paint. (which I am so totally addicted to) And I was really surprised that the rub-ons worked perfectly on the tin. Good to know.

I made another one for the girl’s teacher, but the picture of it sucks. I used SEI Kaboom paper (you scrap geeks know what I’m talking about) and it looks pretty cute. I stamped “school days” on the front. That one will be filled with school supplies and maybe some candy too. The husband says it looks like a lunchbox from the 1970’s. I guess that’s okay. I mean, *I’m* from the 1970’s…

Next year, please remind me about how stressed out I am during the holidays and try and talk me out of MAKING teacher gifts, okay?

Of course, hopefully next year I also won’t have uber-work stress, emergency room stress AND holiday stress all at the same time. <<fingers crossed>>

I know that the whole altered lunchbox thing has been done and done and done…and done some more… by lots of folks… but since I never seem to be anything but *behind* a trend, I’m just going to hope that the teachers are not ‘scrap-savvy’ and that they’ll be pleasantly surprised by the little gifts.

Or they’ll say, “That is SO two years ago… why didn’t she just alter a paint can or something.”

Hmmm… altered paint cans… now *there’s* an idea.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So behind the times.

  1. Kimberly Reed says:

    lol….I know. Have your new employee alter a stapler. 😉 I LOVE your altered lunchiebox. SO much. How could I not. There’s glitter paint. You, my friend, rock.

    And yes…us scrappin’ geeks know all about SEI kaboom. And you know, if either one of those teachers act even the slightest bit ungrateful….you can just take them back. I’ll send you my address. I like chocolate. But more than that I’d love to have me a Jen original.

    I sent you an email a couple days ago asking about your mom….how is she? I know you are on overload right now..hoping she’s improving every day!!!

    It’s really too bad we live across the country from each other. I am pretty sure you would like copper camels. And James makes a seriously mean lemon drop martini. Mmm Mmm good.

  2. Marti says:

    For once, I do *not* fall into the “geek” category! I’ll need a picture of Mac’s teacher’s lunchbox…even blurry is fine. I’ll get the idea. Those may be SO 2 years ago, but they are darn cute. I’m baking for the teachers this weekend! HA HA HA HA HA…

  3. jules says:

    yeah, Jen…get with the times. Now its muffin tins and cookie sheet advent calendars! Sheesh!

    Staplers…now that’s the next big thing!

  4. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    Like the lunch tin you did. Beautifully done!!

  5. islandjen says:

    You are SO last year! (hairflip)

    J/K…this is RAD (oh…was that a so 80’s word?)

    I’m sure the teachers will love it! Besides, chocolate cures all!

Leave a Reply

