Beloved.

My nose is stuffed up. It usually gets that way when I cry a bit. Not to mention the fact that I still have a bit of the ick still lingering in my noggin. But today it’s because my assistant just gave me his two weeks’ notice.

My awesome, smart, funny, caring, dedicated and most excellent of a person just resigned. And it made me cry. I’m extremely happy for him. He’ll be getting a much deserved increase in pay & he won’t have to deal with the stress of our payroll system anymore… but he’s leaving me and that’s sad. So when I told my boss about it I started to cry. Luckily I already had tissues on my desk due to the aforementioned stuffy nose.

He’s been here for TWELVE years. He is beloved by the entire staff. Can you say that you are beloved by your entire staff? I know that I can’t. But I can say with confidence that he is absolutely beloved. I won’t be the only one crying on his last day – that’s for sure.

I have to try and move on – get his very important position filled. I called someone that I know & she is coming in on Monday to meet with me, my current assistant, and the General Manager. I have my fingers crossed.

It’s going to be tough to fill those shoes. I’m going to miss him a lot.

He told me that we can’t talk about it for the rest of the day. I told him that I couldn’t promise that I wouldn’t make him feel guilty. *wink* That’s just what I do. (ask my family) So every time he looks at me, I grab a tissue and start to (pretend) sob loudly. I can probably keep it up for the next two weeks. Next week I’ll start sighing heavily… and the week after I’ll probably be grabbing at his ankles yelling, “PLEASE DON’T LEAVE ME!” But, I’ll gradually work up to that.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beloved.

  1. jules says:

    sounds like he leaves some big shoes to fill!

    I gotta say…I do KNOW how tough this is for you. It is rough to lose someone who has become a “mascot” for the inner workings of the hotel, particularly when he works so closely with you.

    good luck on his replacement 😉

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about that! Wow, 12 years is a long time. Good luck!

  3. Kimberly Reed says:

    Aw…he sounds like an absolutely awesome assistant and person. I hope the person you meet with is a good fit.

    And I hope your final aches go away and you get all the way better.

  4. medreamcatcher says:

    Have you considered shackles and turning one of the rooms into a cell?

    Good people need to grow, then know when to grow, you have helped him with his growth towards the realization of his own career aspirations. Consider his self-advancement a success story that you can share to show how you mentor profressional growth.

    Then unlock the shackles.

  5. Marti says:

    I’m heartbroken also. He’s my favorite person who has ever answered your phone. I’m going to miss him terribly.

  6. islandjen says:

    bwaahhhahaha…you should wear black everyday on his last week!

Leave a Reply

