Medieval Weaponry. So soon?

The third graders are studying medieval life right now. They went on a field trip to Medieval Times and have to do a project based on what they’re learning.

They have choices with this project. They can make a model of a castle. They can put together a diorama (I don’t even know what this is) or they can make a Medieval Weapon.

What does my eight-year old son decide he wants to do?

Make a weapon, of course!

(I guess it’s a good thing he didn’t choose the diorama. That would’ve been awkward.)

And I don’t know about you… but when I think of medieval weapons a particular line from Pulp Fiction comes to mind and it’s really not a pleasant thought… so I started this project with a teensy bit of trepidation…. and if you know me, you know that weapons are soooo not up any alley anywhere near where I exist. I’m all peace-and-love-and-let’s-just-get-along-in- a-nice-utopian-vote-Democrat-kind-of- way.

Oh – one of the choices was to make a coat of armor. Are you kidding me? I can’t wait to see the overachieving-brown-nosing kid who makes an entire coat of armor! That’s just crazy. (see – totally peace and love! ha!)

(um… sorry if that’s your kid. I’m sure it’s a lovely suit of armor. Really.)

So for the past two days we’ve worked on putting together a medieval weapon.

We decided on a lance. Why a lance? Well… because I happened to have an empty wrapping paper tube and a styrofoam cone on hand. (what? doesn’t everyone?) I was going to use the styrofoam cone for a scrapbooking project… but then I would’nt have been able to spend the time making a weapon with my dear sweet son. So – a lance was the obvious choice. (it just clicked in my head – no, I have no idea why)

Anyway… we completed it tonight. Next he has to write a paragraph describing the process and memorize five facts about the lance.

Did you know that lances were mostly made of wood? Did you know they were painted in the color of the knights livery or coat of arms? (ours is in the color of dark blue wrapping paper) Did you know they were only used while on horseback?

Since I now know these things – I felt it was only fair that you know them too.

I’m sure one day in the future I will look back fondly and probably even shed a tear over the time that the boy and I worked on making a weapon that was used to hurt, maim and kill people… because isn’t that what mother/son quality time is all about?

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Medieval Weaponry. So soon?

  1. islandjen says:

    hehhe…talk about some mother/son bonding time! and to think you sacrificed a future scrappy project to make a weapon! awesom! 🙂

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    I am so laughing my ass off: “can’t wait to see the overachieving-brown-nosing kid who makes an entire coat of armor” HA. And trust me…that so would not be my kid. Nothing like a little weaponry to bring a mother and son together, huh?! Dude…you are such a good mom. I bet his lance kicks ass.

  3. Marti says:

    Where’s the picture?

Leave a Reply

