I’m Raising a Ringleader

And I haven’t decided if that’s a good thing or not. I guess it is, right? I mean… we all want our kids to be leaders?

My boy came home from school the other day with $.75 more in quarters than when he went to school. He was so excited to share with me his new business. His name is in the title of the business (coughringleadercough).

He and his “staff” are working hard to raise money. They’re charging $.25 a piece for paper airplanes, origami swans (?), pictures of animals that they’re drawing and other miscellaneous items.

What does he want to do with the money? He would like to send it to Steve Irwin’s family.

He feels that since Steve passed away, they are going to be in need of some funds. So he and his friends came up with this plan to raise some money and send it to Australia.

I didn’t want to discourage my little entrepeneur because I do believe that it’s a wonderful character trait.. that’s what this country was built on, right? And I’m truly moved that he wasn’t just earning money for himself… but because he thought that someone else needed it. I love that he’s philantrphilanthropic… um, charitable at such a young age.

So it was a little difficult for me to break the news to him that the Irwin family is … rich. I let him know that although Steve Irwin is gone, his family would be fine. They’ll probably continue to earn a living from TV and the Australia Zoo. Maybe he could send it to a special animal fund or something?

He decided he will send this money to the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo instead. (the zoo was almost wiped out completely during Hurricane Katrina)

So… now I’m just sitting and waiting for all the parents to start calling me about how my kid is charging them $.25 for paper airplanes… and hope and pray with all my might that he is always a ringleader for people (or animals) in need… and not a ringleader urging people to drink the kool-aid because the spaceship is coming down to save them.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m Raising a Ringleader

  1. jules says:

    lol…put me down for 3 paper airplanes and 3 swans

    kool-aid

    lol!

  2. Kimberly Reed says:

    Um. Yeah. You have a special child. He is the sweetest. Put me down for some airplanes and swans too. Seriously…Skylar is amazing. And I know where he gets it from. His mother is amazing too. I am glad you are MY friend. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. I hope you have the best day ever.

    And…hmmm….you never answered me. What book are you being pubbed in? I really do want to know. Because…well….I want to see your LO in it. So so exciting!! I am thrilled for you and wanted to tell you again!

  3. stacey fike says:

    actually, you may be raising a genious if he is shirking other kids for their lunch money w/o bullying them!!!! and then to do it for charity…..yikes a genious with a heart……love it!!!!

  4. island jen says:

    OMG…that is seriously the best story ever! You’ve got such a great kiddo on your hands…he has a big heart!

  5. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    This is the sweetest thing. You have a very giving son and that’s AWESOME. He’s got a heart of gold. Steve Irwin’s family would be soo proud of him. I’m sure that the other parents would be ok with him charging .25 for something so wonderful. Give him big hugs from me and tell him that he rawks!!!

  6. Marti says:

    Skylar totally ROCKS! What a sweet child you’ve raised there, Jen. That’s amazing. I want some paper planes and swans also…

Leave a Reply

