Hate Mail.

I’m not a fan of mail.

I don’t even like getting it all that much. Oh – I like packages and photo mail… greeting cards are good. But the rest of it? Eh.

I really really have a problem with sending out mail.

For instance, right now I have to mail out a package to my secret swap sister, two layouts for photo swaps, and pictures to someone else so they can scrap them for me. Have I mailed them? No.

I don’t understand why I feel such resistance towards the post office. I can’t remember any specific incident that made me feel this way. It’s not like I’m harboring some traumatic event that happened to me while licking a stamp or something.

What if something happened to me, postal related, and it’s somewhere in my subconscious, and I don’t even know what it is… but it keeps me from going to the post office or appreciating the things I get in the mail?

Hmmm…

That could happen, right?

I just need to do it. I need to bring all the stuff with me to work and then go to the post office.

Could it be a time issue? We’re all busy. (‘busy, busy terribly busy… much much to busy for you…’ – veggie tales) Maybe I just don’t feel like going to the post office. Maybe I’m too busy.

I’m a busy working Mom… I’m not some ‘beck-and-call girl.’ (another Pretty Woman reference… I’m on a roll!  ba-da-bing!) I don’t have time to be gallivanting all over town from post office to post office.

Maybe it’s the uniforms. I mean, even Project Runway couldn’t make those things look sexy. Maybe I have some sort of aversion to the polyester blue/gray fabric and starched collars. Bleh.

Why can’t I just get my shit together and get to the post office? I mean… really – what the hell is wrong with me? It’s just the post office – for crying out loud!  

Even now… at 11pm… I’m thinking I could probably gather all the stuff together and do it tomorrow on the way to work… oh wait.. I don’t have everything together that I need to do to send the stuff out. Crap. I need to get some supplies together, find the addresses, make sure I have everything… and tomorrow, I have an 8am breakfast meeting at a theme park. (wheee!) I won’t have time to get to the post office! 

(oh yes – some days start off realllly good – I’m going to have breakfast and then ride a roller coaster. Well – hopefully a long time after I eat breakfast… wouldn’t want to puke on my boss)

See. No trip to the post office for me.

Whew.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hate Mail.

  1. Julie Martinez says:

    lol, same thing with me. No sense of urgency when it comes to mailing. FInally got my a$$ in gear and mailed off my lo’s yest for a Friday deadline. How’s that for cutting it close?

  2. islandjen says:

    procrastinate, procrastinate, procrastinate!

    and you should do it now…cuz it’s only going to get worse as the hoildays get closer!

  3. medreamcatcher says:

    Why do you fear?

  4. Kimberly Reed says:

    Just thinking about going to the post office makes me break out in a sweat. I HATE digging for addresses, boxes, crap to seal up boxes. I think we should have ‘people’ for that. And I swear…could the people behind the counter be any more RUDE???? Um…how do they expect my children to act after I’ve been in line for a freaking hour and a half!! Um yeah. I hate the post office.

    How was the roller coaster ride? Did breakfast stay down or did your boss get a new suit.

Leave a Reply

