Inspiration

Where does it come from?

A week or so ago I was feeling pretty low & uninspired. I was frustrated over something (scrap-related) & it made me feel really blue. I tried to get my mind off of it & focus on other things and projects. I also re-evaluated how many layouts I post on 2peas… but that’s another story.

So…I decided to make a little book o’ inspiration. I’ve seen this done on other websites by other way more talented folks & thought it might help get me out of the doldrums. I found a rectangular shaped notebook at Target (clearance) and altered it with my most favorite piece of patterned paper (at the moment). 

Then I went through most of the mags in the house & cut out everything and everything that struck my fancy… advertisements, pictures, colors, textures, shapes… whatever.

It was SO FUN. I felt like a kid – cutting and pasting. The little girl wanted to help and we both had a blast. I didn’t use scrap mags… I used the Pottery Barn catalog, left-over Cosmos (mmm… just saying Cosmo makes me thirsty) from when my sister was over, and all the People magazines I get from my Mom.

It was freeing…. with the added benefit of doing something creative and NOT having to think too hard about it. “Is this a good design?” “Where am I going to journal?” “How many photos do I want to fit on a page?” And so on…

It also got me scrapping again. I did my Design Team projects for Serendipity Scrapbook Designs with the awesome November kit & really enjoyed what I came up with.

I don’t know if it was the small ‘break’ I took from scrapping… or if it was my little inspiration journal… or maybe a combination of both. But, it definitely helped me.

This weekend I hope to keep the momentum going and get some more scrapping done. I’m picking up a few photos today and plan on spending a good portion of the weekend working on them. I’m also going to fill my little jack-o-lantern book with Halloween photos. Yayy!

Happy Weekends! I hope you find some inspiration too!

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiration

  1. Mommy Dearest says:

    You are really sooooooooooooooo talented…….and your sense of humor…….whoa!

    You ARE my favorite…………………..don’t tell Jamie or Jillian

  2. Julie Martinez says:

    you know girl, YOU inspire ME! What would I do without your inspiration and support? Luv ya!

    Mwah!

  3. Kimberly Reed says:

    I want to see your inspirational journal…..your book o’inspiration. What do I gotta do to get a peek? It just sounds so absolutely freeing and fabulous. You make me feel giddy with excitement thinking about doing something and not thinking too much about it.

Leave a Reply

