Sick & Tired

The little girl is sick and we’re both pretty tired. That’s what happens when you’re up at 3:30am with a fever and you wake your Mom up to let her know you’re not feeling well.

Are you the one in your house who is woken up by sick children? In my house, the designated wake-ee is me. And I’ve tried switching sides of the bed thinking that would trip the kids up and wake up the husband every-once-in-a-while… but apparently my kids are smarter than that.

Darn smart kids!

So I get woken up when they are scared, can’t sleep, are sick, or if they just feel like chatting…they don’t really understand the “I have to work a nine-to-ten hour day” explanation. I’ve tried.  And depending on which one of the aforementioned reasons is used usually determines my mood once I’m stirred out of a sound sleep. Oh – and the guy in the bed next to me? Yeah… he’s usually snoring away through all of this.  I guess they just need their Mom.

When it’s due to sickness… I am most definitely empathetic and turn into mom-nurturer-caregiver-nurse and also semi-enjoy the fact that they need me. All those Mom instincts come right out of every pore of my body.

When they just feel like chatting… um, yeah… not so much.

Last night was due to a fever. The poor little girl was just not well. She’s sneezing, coughing, congested and warm. She got medicine and juice and tucked back in. Ten minutes later she needed her covers back on her. Five minutes after that she said she couldn’t go back to sleep.

We went to the couch and she pasted her over-heated little girl self right on me and fell asleep.

Me? Not so much of the sleeping thing.

I took the boy to school & then took the little girl to the hotel so I could pick up some work & bring it home. She colored and looked cute (albeit a little pale) and I was able to check messages and make a few calls… get some things arranged.

We came home and rested. I got some work done. We napped (hallelujah) and she is now eating some lunch (and reading over my shoulder).

So I missed a day of work and got to spend some time with my girl… that’s not so bad really. I hope she’s better tomorrow – she’s the Star of the Week and gets to bring in a favorite toy. She’s planning on bringing her little stuffed Koala bear named Kiwi that I picked up for her while I was in Milwaukee. (she’s still reading this as I type it out) AND – her kindergarten class is also having a special “Pumpkin Day” – how fun does that sound?

Me? I certainly wouldn’t want to miss all the disgruntled employees and work I left at the hotel. Gosh, I would be heartbroken if I missed such a fabulous day.

I told the husband “you’ve got next” when we were deciding how we were going to figure out who was going to stay home with the little one. But now I’m not so sure…

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sick & Tired

  1. Marti says:

    Poor girl, and poor mom! Funny thing – Olivia is the Star Student this week, too! It ends tomorrow, so Phil I Fee will be leaving the house. He’s the class mascot & gets to come home all week with the Star Student. I think Phil I Fee may be the topic for tomorrow’s blog…

    I hope you get some rest tonight!

  2. islandjen says:

    awwwww…poor little pumpkin!! i feel for both of you! hugs!

  3. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    Hope lil Mack get’s back to feeling better and mommy get’s some much needed zzzzz’s. You are right, at least you were able to spend some extra time with her ; )

  4. Julie Martinez says:

    me too..I have 3 sickos, myself and dh and guess whohas to take care of all of them?

  5. Kimberly Reed says:

    How’s Mack???? And how’s mommy. Hope she’s better and that you are both now well rested. Funny how they have mommy radar. Happens at my house too. Imagine that. lol…. Oh and yo….when they holler for mommy, while big daddy-o sleeps away…I ‘accidentally’…uh-huh…accidentally…lol….kick him when I get up. Hey…makes ME feel better.

    On a side note…well…not so ‘side’….someone should be telling you every single freakin’ day. YOU ROCK. You are oh so talented and creative. Don’t forget that. Ever.

  6. chriselda says:

    awwww
    i hope she’s better
    and in some ways, doesn’t it make you feel good that they come to you???

Leave a Reply

