Recent Projects

Here are my first two projects for the Serendipity Scrapbook Designs DT. The first one is this altered project..a little decoration for the house:

Boo

Then I made a mini book out of the chipboard pumpkim from the kit. I cut the little guy in half & used it for the front and back of the book. It was funny when I told the husband that I was going to cut the pumpkin in half- he was a little apprehensive and asked me if I was sure and if I really thought it was a good idea. I’m glad I went through with it. Yes, it was a good idea.

Boo - mini book

There is some Hambly paper in there – right behind the face – so you can see the spiderweb through the features. I also used rub-ons and lots of ribbon, letters, stickers… all kinds of fun stuff in this little book.

I felt a little bit of stress about creating something for a Design Team. I’m my own worst critic, I guess, and didn’t want anyone to wonder why in the world I was chosen. You know? I’m happy with what I came up with & plan on doing some more. (I have plenty of supplies left over!) The kits that Milissa puts together are really terrific and fun!

I’ve also been doing some scrapping for a Pub Challenge. We’ll see how that goes. I’m using one of my favorite paper manufacturers & really trying to have fun with it. (as opposed to thinking too much about it)

Scrapping isn’t supposed to be stressful, right?

You forget that when you try out for these DTs or do these challenges that your work, your “art,” the way that you express yourself, is going to be judged by others… not that there’s a judging process on a DT… but the DT’s purpose is to provide inspiration to the people who purchase the kits.

You don’t want to have them looking at your project and thinking that it looks too easy or too hard or too sucky.  I didn’t think about that part of the process until I got my kit in the mail. And then I thought, “Oh shit… now I have to do something with this.” I didn’t think too much about it while I was actually working on them. Afterwards is when the doubt.. crept.. in…

Oh well. Its all part of the process, I guess… of putting a piece of yourself out there where other people can see it. (like my marmalade hair – ha!)

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Recent Projects

  1. Julie Martinez says:

    I love your work and my offer to generously allow you to scrap my H’ween pics still stands!

  2. Kimberly says:

    Jen, both of these projects rock. Just kick that doubt right in the as* because you really have so much talent. LOVE the pumpkin mini book. Wish I could see it all here… And I REALLY want to see your marmalade hair. I do. Guess I’ll have to search for the rest of your mini book because I really do want to see it!

  3. Kimberly says:

    Okay…dude…your pumpkin mini book is not at 2 Peas. Link me to Serendipity….or I’ll have to remember to go check it out there.

  4. Holly says:

    Can you do anything crappy??? I LOVE THIS STUFF… and you freakin kick ass.

  5. island jen says:

    OMG..you are a kit club DT rock star!!

  6. chriselda says:

    it came to me the other day that i made you start this blog
    bwahahahaa
    i’m evil!
    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeveeeeeeeeeeeeeel!
    love the goodies
    come be crafty!

  7. InsaneInTheMembrane says:

    Love the decorations. I think your ideas should never be questioned. You are so very talented!!!!

  8. Marti says:

    Jen Jen – you so rock. One of these days, maybe you actually BELIEVE IT! Quit being a girly-girl, hold your marmalade hair high and smile into the sun, knowing that you are a DT SUPER STAR!

  9. Lori says:

    Your stuff is GORGEOUS. Never second guess yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

