Hair Color Lament

I would like to take this opportunity to thank my Mom and her female ancestors for all of my gray hair. There is no reason a thirty-three year old woman should have as much gray as I do right now. I’ve read that it’s not from stress (otherwise I’d be blaming the husband and children and job); it’s genetic.

Because I lost the genetic bingo game on hair color (and a few other things, I might add) I depend on chemicals to keep me from looking like I’m a lot older than the mere-wee-babe of thirty-three. (shut-up if you’re younger)

There is a small satisfaction in knowing that my sisters are probably going through the same thing… although, the youngest one has had so many different hair colors, I don’t know if she’d ever realize she had any gray hair. I also realize I will be passing down this genetic gem to my daughter and any granddaughters I may be blessed with. (it’s the little things that make me smile)

While getting my hair cut a few weeks ago, the stylist suggested that I come in to get my hair colored by her. I didn’t have time to do it then, I explained to her, and I usually get it out of a box from the store. I griped about the fact that all the hair color boxes I’ve tried that say “Will Cover Gray” are lying bastards who rip a gray-haired girls hopes to shreds each and every time she uses it.

Unfortunately, I don’t want to spend the money on getting my hair colored professionally. Why can’t I just do it myself and get the same results?

We don’t speak of it… but there was the “Blonde Incident of 1999” when I helped Marti color and highlight her hair. Let’s just say that I’m glad she still speaks to me.

Then I think of all the scrapbooking supplies… or shoes… or purses I can buy with the money I would spend on a professional hair colorist.

This weekend I went to Target and buy the $20 box of hair color and highlights in the box. (I visited Target after my trip to the Scrapbook store, by the way) I come home & follow the directions to get my hair to medium brown with caramel highlights. Ahhh… the perfect combination for my pale skin and freckles… yesss.

While the base color is medium brown like the box says… the highlights aren’t anywhere near caramel… um, maybe more like marmalade. Hmmpf. Lying bastards.

I asked a friend of mine if there was a lot of orange in my hair. The response was, “not too much.” I said, “THERE WASN’T SUPPOSED TO BE ANY!”

No one at work has said anything about it. You know that’s not a good sign.

How much does it cost to get my hair professionally colored?

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hair Color Lament

  1. Marti says:

    Would it be mean to call that KARMA!? Granted, it is 7 year old karma, but old & grey karma is better than no karma at all. Hair color is equal to about one Vera Bradley purse, 1/4 of a nice Coach purse, two pair of shoes from Payless (unless they are having a sale) or a ream of patterned paper.

    I’m sorry for that.

    But giggling at the thought of your marmalade hair.

  2. InsaneInTheMembrane says:

    So…who gave the ‘not much’ answer??? Sounds like someone wasn’t thinking. I have a feeling that the silence you are hearing at work is probably just because they suck and it has nothing to do with you. However, I am insane…in the membrane. Besides…as a rule…coworkers can and do suck.
    And…what color *is* marmalade. I’ll have to google that.

  3. Holly says:

    Jen Jen Jen…
    You knew you would get a comment from me, Miss Hairstylist on this. Jen Jen Jen Jen Jen don’t color your own hair. Just go get it done. There is something called pre-softening that I suggest you suggest to your stylist to really get it to take on that grey and get it covered and KEEP it covered…. And, although it may be a little expensive at first, the touch-up (if you touch it up approx. every 6-8 wks) should only be a fraction of a fully head color… at least that is how I do it at my salon. Splurge. Your hair really defines you- as that is the first thing people notice when they see you. Let me know if you have any hair q’s… my fav subject besides scrappin. Or, hey, better yet, come to MS and I will do it @ my salon for you!!!!

  4. island jen says:

    OMG…you are killing me! Dude, just give up srap supplies and starbucks for like a weeks, and you can afford that professional hair stylist!!

  5. OMG, that has happened to me too! yikes…it’s horrible cause when u remember….(atleast this is what i do) i yelp….”aaghhh i forgot…. then i stop short so my co workers don’t hear…lol glad u had a back up

Leave a Reply

