“I’m Sailing! I’m saaiiillliiinnnggg!”

Oh yes… I sailed. I’m a sailor.

(and I’m wearing a Navy visor – I’m not a visor/hat kind of girl, but it was super-windy and no amount of hairspray was going to keep my bang straight…) Apparently the Navy is kinda big around here. *shrug*

jen

Our team building wasn’t quite “sitting on a yacht drinking cocktails” but it was on a sailboat and it was AMAZING. We were divided into two teams (different colored windbreakers) and each team had a sailboat. (the same schooners used in the movie ‘The Wedding Crashers’) We trained for two hours and learned how to sail. And then we had a race.

The crew wasn’t supposed to help us during the race. It was all us… navigation, helm, jig, and stay sail. I still don’t know which side is starboard or port… and I’m not so sure about how to know when to ‘tack’ and when to ‘jibe’ – and luckily for our team, I wasn’t in charge of any of those things.

I ended up being in charge of “communication.” (aka – finally my loud mouth came in handy) When the captain shouted out commands, I’d repeat them to the front of the boat so they knew what to do. (aka – not get hit by the ‘boom’ – how funny would a Workers’ Comp case be at an HR Convention? Yeah, not so much fun.) Anyway. That was my job.

There was a thunderstorm at the end of the race, so no one could say that they “won.” (and even though the blue team was ahead, we were positive we were going to catch up and pass them) Yes – I was on the yellow team.

At one point during the afternoon, I laid back mid-deck and took this photo:

sailplane

At this moment I was lying there thinking about how lucky I was to be on a sailboat in the Chesapeake Bay…when am I ever going to do *that* again? These are the things we can’t take for granted, you know? And even though the weather wasn’t perfect the entire time, it turned out to be a fantastic day. 

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “I’m Sailing! I’m saaiiillliiinnnggg!”

  1. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    Glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. I love the pic that you captured Jen, gorgeous. Hope you scrap it soon. I know the yellow team would have won!!!

  2. medreamcatcher says:

    First Chesapeake Bay, then the Americas Cup~!

  3. Kimberly says:

    OH…how absolutely fabulous was that!!!!! What a perfect team building event!! And I am sure…absolutely sure…too…that the yellow team would have, in fact…pulled out in front. IF it weren’t for that storm! lol… How awesome Jen!! Great pics too….make me long to be on the water….at the ocean….

  4. island jen says:

    too freakin’ cool!

  5. Marti says:

    What an amazing picture! What, no scavenger hunt? 😛

Leave a Reply

