Secrets and Teeth

Secret LO

This is my layout for the challenge on The Dares blog. (you can see it here) The challenge was to do a layout about a secret. I figured that it would be good to put down on a layout how I feel about myself most of the time. 

This morning as my kids are getting ready to walk out the door, my son says to me, “Is *that* what you’re going to wear to work today, Mommy?”

Awww – aren’t kids cute? Isn’t their honesty sooo freakin’ *adorable*?!

Um yes, this is what I’m wearing. And thanks for helpin’ to boost the old ego, champ.

By the way – that piece of patterned paper that I used on the above layout – the kinda flowery one – is probably one of my most favorite sheets of patterned paper ever.  As soon as I saw it in person I fell in LOVE with it… the colors, the bold pattern.. I LOVE it.  And I only bought one sheet of it. (stupid me) I will be using every stinkin’ inch of that piece of paper.  I felt horrible tearing it for this layout – its just too good to be torn. 

And you know what else I love about that layout?? The ampersand!  I love the way I used it on this layout & I love how it looks! (it’s the little things…) I thought I was so stinkin’ clever!  Ha! (not that there haven’t been a million other super-talented people who have used something like that in a million way-better-super-awesome layouts) But for me, it was like a little light-bulb went *ding* in my head. (and that doesn’t happen nearly as often as I’d like it to)

Oh – and last night my little girl lost her first baby tooth. This makes me even more emotional than her starting kindergarten. Every little pearly tooth lost is one more step that she’s taking away from me!!  <<sob>> I must say – she looks awfully cute with the little gap in her teeth. Yes, I took pictures. 

Well…The Tooth Fairy didn’t have any singles on her… so the little girl was thrilled to discover a five dollar bill in her tooth fairy pillow this morning.  **The Tooth Fairy needs to remember to carry smaller bills.  *I* certainly never saw more than a $2 bill when I lost a tooth. The cost hike of baby teeth must surely have a direct correlation to the rising gas prices and the current presidential administration. Dontcha think?

At least this time the Tooth Fairy wasn’t all doped up on Nyquil from being sick with the flu and had to run around with a cold medicine hangover looking for some sort of money-thing to stick under the boy’s pillow at 6:00 in the morning… all the while hoping he wouldn’t wake up & catch her! 

Um, yeah… the Tooth Fairy needs some help.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Secrets and Teeth

  1. island jen says:

    um hello…you didn’t name the paper so that those of us who were on a spending freeze, but suck at it, can now go out and buy it!! so name it sista!!

    and i totally love your tooth fairy stories….can’t wait to see those on a page! and $5…one time the tooth fairy wrote me a check!! and i’m so not kidding!

  2. Kimberly says:

    First…I LOVE the paper too. Seriously. This LO is F.A.B. You are amazing.

    I laugh when I read your blog. That’s a good thing. Second….just want to take a sec and say thanks for taking some time our of your life and sharing part of yourself (on your blog and on mine). You rock. Seriously.

    Third….awwwww…..she lost her first tooth????!!!! More emotional than starting kindergarten???? Now that’s not what a mom whose son just started kindergarten wants to hear. The losing teeth thing should be coming my way shortly. And yo…note to self…when it gets close…make sure to keep small bills in the house.

    Happy weekend…..

  3. Julie Martinez says:

    lol at the no singles thing…the same thing happened to the tooth fairy at my house. Only it was his 5th tooth lost…and he didn’t even let me know it was loose! So no way I was prepared!

    don’t feel bad…my tooth fairy was in the habit of leaving me books! (but that was a *good* thing!)

  4. Holly says:

    You raWk!!! I love your work and I am sooooooooooooo linking you to my blog- didn’t know you had one!!! Love it.

  5. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    Love that LO that your brillant mind created girl!! Regarding the tooth fairy, I’m going to for sure have to change some of my habits, I don’t carry any cash-EVER. If McKenzie doesn’t take debit cards I’m going to be up a creek with no paddle. LOL

  6. jamie says:

    I thought the tooth fairy only carried money that jingled. All I remember are silver dollars!!!! $5 – wow …can I get that just for going to the dentist???

  7. Marti says:

    Jordan lost a tooth this weekend. I told him, “The tooth fairy doesn’t have any money, you’ll have to take a raincheck” since he knows the truth anyway. My mom was in town, and she was outraged that the cost of a baby tooth is $1. She slipped him a fiver and we called it a day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

