Speaking of being neurotic…

… I talked to my Mom today. She and Dad just got off a cruise ship yesterday that they are now investigating because a woman went missing. (I don’t know if that had anything to do with the rest of the conversation – just giving you some back-story.)

Then my Mom asks me when I’m traveling again. I reply, “the end of this month.” She says that she’s not really happy about the fact that I’m going to Washington D.C. She says it’s because of what Osama Bin Laden just said. I asked, “What did he say?” (and braced myself) “Well, he said that there would be more terrorism and that it would be worse than before.”

I said that I wasn’t flying into Washington D.C., I was visiting Annapolis. She said, “Well, anywhere on the east coast is bad.”

I reassured her that air travel was very safe & that I wasn’t worried.  I said that if anything else happened, I didn’t think it would be by airplane…and that everything would be fine and that she shouldn’t worry…  

And then I can’t believe I’m having this conversation with my Mother.  Did my Mom and I really discuss Osama Bin Laden and how he relates to a business trip I’m taking at the end of this month?? What is this world coming to? Seriously?

Did I forget to tell my Mom about how long it’s taken me to feel comfortable flying again?  It took at least a year or so of traveling to start to feel safe on an airplane and to not feel like I needed medication and/or a large quantity of alcohol to step foot on an airplane.

(My doctor, at the time, who would prescribe me ANYTHING at the drop of a hat, gave me some anxiety medicine that knocked me out – big time – whenever I had to fly.  I stopped using it after the second time because it made me feel like crap the rest of the day… I was useless… and that was NO fun.)

Does my Mom not realize that I’m PMS’ing, chewed off my fingernails while watching a sappy chick flick on the anniversary of a great tragedy?  Now is not the time to bring up the fact that she thinks something is going to happen to ME the next time I travel… which is in about 10 days!

Maybe I should give that doctor a call… a pap smear might be worth some anxiety meds…

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking of being neurotic…

  1. Marti says:

    Definitely worth a trip down to see Dr. S. You can get some anxiety meds, a pap smear, chest x-ray AND an echo-cardiogram in one trip. You’re going to be fine.

  2. Kimberly says:

    It’s pretty sad…isn’t it….all the things that have changed. And yo…you get some of those meds…pssssst….slip me a few on the down lo. Some days it just sounds like a pretty good idea.

Leave a Reply

