September 11

I’m sitting at my desk, trying to be productive, while thinking of that terrible day five years ago. Part of me wants to be at home watching all of the coverage, the memorials, the videos, etc.  And the other part of me wants to stay away from it. It’s so hard to watch.  When I see those planes heading for the towers, I hear myself screaming inside my head for the planes to go off their terrible course… begging history to be changed.

I remember being glued to the TV when it was all happening. So was my boy; he was three years old. You just don’t realize how much they can pick up…

A couple of days later I told my husband to make sure the TV was not on any news channel at home. My son started building tall skyscrapers out of blocks and using airplanes to crash into them. He asked a lot of questions about what was happening to the people in those planes and the buildings and it was really difficult to find the right words to answer him. How do you explain terrorism to a three-year-old?

Even after making sure he didn’t watch anymore of the coverage, it was already in his head. He replayed what he had seen in his “playtime” with blocks and crayons and toy airplanes. He asked us questions about it probably every day for at least 6 or 8 months. I told him that it was a very sad day, that bad people had made those planes crash and that many people were hurt. 

Gradually, the daily questions about 9/11 went away. We’d see snippets of it on the news or other channels and before we could change the channel, he’d point and exclaim “there they are! That’s the World Trade Center!” I would quickly change the channel or change the subject.

Now at 8 years old he can be a bit neurotic at times. I thought it was one of his little “quirks” – like being afraid of leaves (which took about a year to get over) or being obsessed with meerkats… but I wonder..could some of this have anything to do with 9/11?

When he gets tucked into bed each night he says the same phrase every time… and it doesn’t make any sense to anyone but him. It’s a ritual that makes him feel better – obviously a control thing.

A couple of months ago he started to ask me if anything was going to happen to him while he slept.  He asks me to promise him that nothing is going to happen to him. Should I promise him? I feel like I shouldn’t… I mean, I can’t make any guarantees about anything, right?  Plus – not that I’m superstitious or anything – but I feel like if I promise him that nothing will happen, I’m just jinxing it.  (hey – I’m not ruling out that his nerosis isn’t genetic. ahem.)

Maybe I could have promised him that – before September 2001. On the other hand, should a child believe, at least for a while, that their parents can control more than they truly can? That their parents CAN keep them safe and can guarantee it?

I’m not sure what I’m trying to say here.  I guess my mood today is one of rememberance… for the families who lost loved ones… for our country… and for children everywhere who just want to go to bed knowing that everything will be okay until they wake up… and for the parents who wish they could make that kind of promise. 

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 11

  1. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    I really enjoyed your post Jen.It’s taught me something today. I know that smaller children can pick up on things very quickly but I never really realized the impact or understood how a 3 yr old can remember stuff that is just soo horrible. I’m sorry that your son had to see such horrible things happen on this day, this is something that he will probably remember forever. Regarding the promising of nothing happening to him, Gosh, that’s a tough call, What do you do??? I don’t think that there is a right or wrong answer to this. You are a wonderful mother and I’m sure will make the best decision for your little man. OK, I’m going to shut up now before Island Jen post on here that I talk too much. Later girl!

  2. medreamcatcher says:

    I was listening to the O’Reilly Factor last night on talk radio. His theme of the evening was children impacted by 911. Both those within the zone of impact, and all those within the zone of obsessive television influence. Pretty much all of our children.

    These subtle influences, early on, that define and refine us. Does Skylar have an American Flag of his own? Mindstorming ways to bring this towards positive patriotism.

    And yes, an agenda, surrounded by my Eagles and Flags.

Leave a Reply

